Pepperdine University

Information

Select a Database

Library Databases by Letter: A

Database/DescriptionGuide
Academic Search Elite
An EBSCO database that provides full text coverage of over 2,050 journals, including nearly 1,500 peer-reviewed titles in the social sciences, humanities, general science, multi-cultural studies, education and more. Full-text coverage back to 1985.
Information about the Academic Search Elite database
ACLS Humanities E-Book (formerly History E-Book)
A project led by the American Council of Learned Societies (ACLS), the HEB project now includes the full text of over 1500 titles and is expanding to include most humanities disciplines and area studies. It includes books that remain vital to both scholars and advanced students and are frequently cited in the literature. Approximately 300 books are added annually to the collection.
Information about the ACLS Humanities E-Book (formerly History E-Book) database
Acronyms, initialisms & abbreviations dictionary
Definitions of a wide variety of acronyms, initialisms, abbreviations and similar contractions enable you to quickly and easily translate terms into their full names or meanings.
Information about the Acronyms, initialisms & abbreviations dictionary database
AFI Catalog
Compiled by the American Film Institute, this national filmography documents around 46,000 American feature films from 1893-1970, providing full production and cast information as well as extensive plot summaries and notes.
Information about the AFI Catalog database
AIDSearch
Made available by NISC and NLM (U.S. National Library of Medicine), AIDSearch, a combination of MEDLINE AIDS/HIV subset, AIDSTRIALS and AIDSDRUGS databases from the National Library of Medicine, provides information about Acquired Immunodeficiency Syndrome (AIDS) and related topics.
Information about the AIDSearch database
Alt Health Watch
An EBSCOhost database that focuses on perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. This database provides full text for articles, from more than 180 international and often peer-reviewed reports, proceedings as well as association and consumer newsletters. In addition, Alt HealthWatch includes hundreds of pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts. Alt HealthWatch provides in-depth coverage across the full spectrum of subject areas covered by complementary and alternative medicine.
Information about the Alt Health Watch database
Alternative Press Index (AltPressIndex)
With an international and interdisciplinary focus, Alternative Press Index journals document cultural, economic, political and social change, providing in-depth coverage in the humanities and social sciences. Updated quarterly, this database indexes nearly 300 alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines and includes selected abstracts from research journals.
Information about the Alternative Press Index (AltPressIndex) database
America's Historical Newspapers
Series I offers more than 700 historical American newspapers from 23 states and the District of Columbia printed between 1690 and 1876 and is based on Clarence S. Brigham's "History and Bibliography of American Newspapers, 1690-1820" and other authoritative bibliographies.
Information about the America's Historical Newspapers database
America: History and Life
Indexes and abstracts scholarly literature from journals, dissertations and book and media reviews on the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Indexing covers 1,700 journals from 1964 to the present. Strong English-language journal coverage is balanced by an international perspective on topics and events, including abstracts in English of articles published in more than 40 languages.
Information about the America: History and Life database
The American Civil War: Letters and Diaries
Includes detailed firsthand descriptions of historical characters, glimpses of daily life in the army and at home, anecdotes about key events and personages.
Information about the The American Civil War: Letters and Diaries database
American Decades (Gale)
Cross-disciplinary source for those who need a single, consistent reference to document and analyze periods of contemporary American social history.
Information about the American Decades (Gale) database
American Film Scripts Online
American Film Scripts Online (AFSO) is an ongoing project to digitize and thoroughly index 1,000 film scripts. This release contains 823 scripts by 969 writers; most of the scripts have never been published before, and nowhere else are they available online. The primary focus of the database is the written work, rather than the film itself. It allows users to see and understand the structure of films, character development, beginnings and endings, plot points and scenes. The database has been engineered to provide access at the scene or character level.
Information about the American Film Scripts Online database
American Men and Women of Science (25th ed., 2008)
Includes biographical entries on approximately 120,000 living scientists, providing birthdate; birthplace; field of specialty; education; honorary degrees; current position; professional and career information; awards; memberships; research information; and addresses for each entrant where available
Information about the American Men and Women of Science  (25th ed., 2008) database
American National Biography
Offers portraits of more than 17,400 men and women -- from all eras and walks of life -- whose lives have shaped the nation. Updated quarterly with hundreds of new and revised entries, the ANB Online features thousands of illustrations, more than 80,000 hyperlinked cross-references, links to select web sites, and powerful search capabilities. Includes over 900 articles from The Oxford Companion to United States History, providing historical and social context to the biographies.
Information about the American National Biography database
Anchor Bible Dictionary
Provides access to more than 6,000 entries along with illustrations. Entries contain comprehensive coverage with cross-references to related text for quick location of archaeological and biblical sites.
 
Annals of American History
U.S. history from 1493 to modern times in over 2,000 primary documents plus images, video and audio clips. Document types include historical accounts, speeches, memoirs, poems, editorials and cultural criticism discussing government, foreign relations, business, war, the arts, family life and religion.
Information about the Annals of American History database
Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL)
The Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature contains 880,000 records, covering monographs, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews and collections of essays published anywhere in the world from 1920 onwards.
Information about the Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL) database
Annual statement studies : eStatement studies
Robert Morris Associates (RMA) Annual Statement Studies provides financial ratios for several industries. Industries are organized by NAICS codes and fairly narrow industries such as masonry contractors and jewelry stores are included. These ratios are the composite averages of several small and midsized businesses. You can download the reports into Excel.
Information about the Annual statement studies : eStatement studies database
Archive of Folk Culture
The Library of Congress American Folklife Center's Archive of Folk Culture includes over two million photographs, manuscripts, audio recordings, and moving images. It consists of documentation of traditional culture from all around the world including the earliest field recordings made in the 1890s on wax cylinder through recordings made using digital technology. It is America's first national archive of traditional life, and one of the oldest and largest of such repositories in the world.
 
Archives of Traditional Music
The Archives of Traditional Music at Indiana University is the largest university-based ethnographic sound archives in the United States. Its holdings cover a wide range of cultural and geographical areas, and include commercial and field recordings of vocal and instrumental music, folktales, interviews, and oral history, as well as videotapes, photographs, and manuscripts.
 
Art Full Text
Wilson Art Full Text indexes and abstracts articles from from more than 480 periodicals, many of them peer-reviewed, published throughout the world. Subjects covered include advertising art, antiques, archaeology, architecture and architectural history, art history, computers in art, crafts, decorative arts, fashion design, folk art, graphic arts, industrial design, interior design, landscape architecture, motion pictures, museology, non-western art, painting, photography, pottery, sculpture, television, textiles and video. Coverage includes the full text of 160 journals beginning January 1997.
Information about the Art Full Text database
Asian American Drama
Asian American Drama brings together more than 250 plays, along with related biographical, production and theatrical information, providing a comprehensive overview of this growing field. The collection begins with the works of Sadakichi Hartmann in the late nineteenth century and includes contemporary playwrights, such as Philip Kan Gotanda, Elizabeth Wong, and Jeannie Barroga. The plays present the lives and struggles of Asians in North America and views of important historical events, such as the construction of the railroads in the nineteenth century, the internment of Japanese Americans during World War II, and the Vietnam conflict. The plays also address sociological issues, such as assimilation, integration, and cultural identity in a Western context. The effect of Western religion is also examined.
Information about the Asian American Drama database
Associations Unlimited
Contains information for approximately 460,000 international and U.S. national, regional, state, and local nonprofit membership organizations in all fields, including IRS data on U.S. 501(c) nonprofit organizations.
Information about the Associations Unlimited database
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials
Citations to journal articles, essays, book reviews, ministry reports and theses of interest to faculty and majors in the field of religion. This full-text version of the ATLA Religion Database provides a collection of major theology and religious journals reflecting all major faiths, denominations and language groups. More than 600 journals are indexed annually. The database includes more than 1.3 million bibliographic records, including more than 488,000 article citations from more than 1,500 journals (506 currently indexed), journal articles, more than 200,000 essay citations, and more than 400,000 book review citations. Coverage dates back to 1949.
Information about the ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials database

 

Terms of Use | Privacy Policy