Pepperdine University

Information

Select a Database

Library Databases by Letter: B

Database/DescriptionGuide
Biography Resource Center
Provides biographical information on more than 340,000 people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas. Besides biographical narratives, the database provides full-text articles from more than 300 periodicals and includes more than 26,000 images.
Information about the Biography Resource Center database
Black Drama
Contains the full text of 1,200 plays written from the mid-1800s to the present by more than 100 playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries. The database is composed of three parts. Part 1 covers key writings of the Harlem Renaissance, works performed for the Federal Theatre Project, and plays by critically acclaimed dramatists of the 1940s. The second part of the collection covers the Black Arts movement of the sixties and seventies and works performed by the Black Arts Repertory Theatre/School (BARTS), The Negro Ensemble Company, and other companies. Part 3 focuses on plays that deal with the social and political ills stemming from colonialism, slavery, and apartheid; the struggle for independence; African history; and neo-colonialism.
Information about the Black Drama database
Black Thought and Culture
Black Thought and Culture provides approximately 100,000 pages of monographs, essays, articles, speeches, and interviews written by leaders within the black community from the earliest times to the present. In addition to well-known works, when completed, the collection will feature unique, fugitive and never-before-published materials, including the first-ever complete full run of the Black Panther newspaper. The collection is intended for research in black studies, political science, American history, music, literature, and art. This ninth release of Black Thought and Culture includes approximately 1297 sources and 1100 authors (March 2007).
Information about the Black Thought and Culture database
Book Review Digest Plus
Book Review Digest Plus cites and excerpts reviews of over 8,000 current English-language fiction and nonfiction books for adults and children, excluding reviews of textbooks, government publications, and technical books in law and the sciences. Book Review Digest Plus includes over 115,000 full text reviews and is updated daily. It covers periodicals published in the United States, Canada, and Great Britain since 1983, and includes only reviews that have appeared within 18 months of the book's publication.
Information about the Book Review Digest Plus database
Britannica Online
Encyclopedia Britannica Online (Academic edition) includes the complete encyclopedia, Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary & Thesaurus, the Year in Review, World Atlas, notable quotations, and world data (country information and statistics); includes images, sound files and video clips.
Information about the Britannica Online database
British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries
Spans more than 400 years of personal writings, bringing together the voices of women from England, Scotland, Ireland, and Wales. The database includes approximately 100,000 pages of material assembled from numerous bibliographies and from newly conducted research as well as 4,000 pages of previously unpublished manuscripts. Extending back to 1500, all forms of diaries - religious, travel, and journalistic - enrich the content of the collection.
Information about the British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries database
British Library Sound Archive
The British Library's classical music section holds recordings of music in the western concert tradition, opera and liturgical music, and the pre-Baroque repertories of Western Europe. The collection includes commercial discs, tapes of BBC and other radio broadcasts, test pressings, and rare or unpublished recordings donated by composers and private collectors.
Information about the British Library Sound Archive database
Business Source Premier
Business Source Premier is the industry's most used index of business journals, magazines and other sources, containing indexing and abstracts for more than 3,200 business-related periodicals with coverage back as far as the first half of the 20th century. This file also provides full text for more than 2,300 periodicals, including nearly 1,100 full-text peer-reviewed journals. Business Source Premier offers unparalleled full text coverage of journals in marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance, econometrics, economics, international business, and more. Business Source Premier contains full text from the most prestigious business journals, including Harvard Business Review (back to 1922), Journal of Marketing (back to 1936), Accounting Review (back to 1926), Journal of Finance (back to 1946), Quarterly Journal of Economics (back to 1904), etc. The database also includes full text from country economic reports, monographs, industry reports, and company profiles for the world's 10,000 largest companies and SWOT analyses.
Information about the Business Source Premier database

 

Terms of Use | Privacy Policy