Pepperdine University

Information

Select a Database

Library Databases by Letter: D

Database/DescriptionGuide
Dictionary of National Biography
The Oxford Dictionary of National Biography features 56,000 articles on notable people who were born or lived in the British Isles and its former territories and who died before December 31, 2000. In addition to outlining a person's activities, character, and significance, each article also includes dates and places of key events, information on parents and spouses, and places of residence. One in five articles is accompanied by an image of the person who is the subject of the article.
Information about the Dictionary of National Biography database
Digest of Education Statistics
A compilation of statistical information covering the broad field of American education from prekindergarten through graduate school. The Digest includes a selection of data from many sources, both government and private, and draws especially on the results of surveys and activities carried out by the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES).
 
Digital National Security Archive
The DNSA provides a collection of primary documents central to US foreign and military policy since 1945. Nearly 43,000 declassified documents are included in a group of 22 collections, each focused on a single topic. Each collection contains a range of policy documents including presidential directives, memos, diplomatic dispatches, meeting notes, independent reports, briefing papers, White House communications, email and confidential letters. Most of the documents in the DNSA collection were obtained through the use of the US Freedom of Information Act.
Information about the Digital National Security Archive database
Directory of American Firms Operating in Foreign Countries
Authoritative source for multinational business contact information from 190 countries, including contact information for headquarters, branches, subsidiaries, and affiliates of multinational firms. Includes two parts: American firms operating in foreign countries; and Foreign firms operating in the United States. This is a useful resource for locating overseas jobs.
Information about the Directory of American Firms Operating in Foreign Countries database
Directory of foreign Firms Operating in the United States
Authoritative source for multinational business contact information from 190 countries, including contact information for headquarters, branches, subsidiaries, and affiliates of multinational firms. Includes two parts: American firms operating in foreign countries; and Foreign firms operating in the United States. This is a useful resource for locating overseas jobs.
Information about the Directory of foreign Firms Operating in the United States database
Dissertations & Theses
With more than 2 million entries, Proquest Dissertations & Theses (PQD&T) is the single, central, authoritative resource for information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses. Dissertations published from 1980 forward include 350-word abstracts written by the author. Master's theses published from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts.
Information about the Dissertations & Theses database

 

Terms of Use | Privacy Policy