Pepperdine University

Information

Select a Database

Library Databases by Letter: G

Database/DescriptionGuide
Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America (2d ed. 2000)
Contains 8,000 to 12,000 word essays on specific culture groups in the United States, emphasizing religions, holidays, customs, and languages in addition to providing information on historical background and settlement patterns. Also covers ethnoreligious groups such as Jews, Chaldeans, and Amish. Each essay lists organizations and research centers; name, address, and contact information for periodicals, radio, and television stations; and a further readings section.
Information about the Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America (2d ed. 2000) database
Gale Virtual Reference Library
A database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
Information about the Gale Virtual Reference Library database
Gartner Research Services
Thanks to the generosity of Pepperdine's IT Department, we now have access to Gartner Research Services. Gartner is a leading information technology research and advisory company, delivering technology-related insight. Gartner Research reports cover analysis of computer hardware and software, information technology services, communications and networks, and semiconductor design and devices. The list of topic areas is very extensive and includes both current and emerging technologies and services used in major industry sectors such as banking, education, energy & utilities, government, healthcare providers, insurance, investment services, manufacturing, media, and retail. Some of the industry and markets data is not included in Pepperdine's subscription and will not be accessible.
 
General Science
Search 555 periodicals on science subjects such as agriculture, biology, chemistry, computers, engineering, physics, and more
Information about the General Science database
Geography Compass
Geography Compass is an online-only journal publishing original, peer-reviewed surveys of current research from across the entire discipline. Geography Compass publishes state-of-the-art reviews, supported by a comprehensive bibliography and accessible to an international readership. Geography Compass is aimed at senior undergraduates, postgraduates and academics, and will provide a unique reference tool for researching essays, preparing lectures, writing a research proposal, or just keeping up with new developments in a specific area of interest. Fields covered by Geography Compass include: Economic Geography, Social Geography, Cultural Geography, Political Geography, Urban Geography, Development, Biogeography, Environment and Society, GIS, Climatology, Earth Observations, Geomorphology, Hydrology & Water Resources.
Information about the Geography Compass database
Global Market Information Database
Offers integrated access to statistics, market reports, company profiles and information sources. 205 countries are researched, with extended coverage of 52; includes 4500 market research reports and 3,000 company profiles.
Information about the Global Market Information Database database
Google Book Search
Search for books with content that contains a match for your search terms. If the book is out of copyright, or the publisher has given permission, you'll be able to see a preview or snippet of the book, and in some cases the entire text. "Buy this book" and "Borrow this book" links show where you can buy or borrow the book.
Information about the Google Book Search database
Google Scholar
Search for relevant scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.
Information about the Google Scholar database
GreenFile
GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records.
Information about the GreenFile database
Grove Art Online
Covers all aspects of the visual arts worldwide from prehistory to the present day. All 45,050 articles from the print edition are accessible by keyword search and include over 40,000 links to important art images in galleries and museums around the world.
Information about the Grove Art Online database
Grove Music Online
Includes the full text of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, second edition, The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz with links to thousands of images, digital sound and related sites.
Information about the Grove Music Online database

 

Terms of Use | Privacy Policy