Pepperdine University

Information

Select a Database

Library Databases by Letter: M

Database/DescriptionGuide
MAS Ultra - School Edition
This comprehensive database, designed specifically for high school libraries, contains full text for nearly 500 popular, high school magazines. All full text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Full text is also available for 84,774 biographies and 100,554 primary source documents. Additionally, MAS Ultra - School Edition contains more than 350 reference books (including the Columbia Encyclopedia, the CIA World Fact Book and World Almanac & Book of Facts), an Image Collection of 235,186 photos, maps & flags, color PDFs and expanded full text backfiles (back to 1975) for key magazines.
Information about the MAS Ultra - School Edition database
MathSciNet
A comprehensive database covering the world's mathematical literature, providing Web access to the signed reviews and bibliographic data from Mathematical Reviews and Current Mathematical Publications. Over 80,000 new items are added each year. MathSciNet contains over 2 million items and over 700,000 direct links to original articles; bibliographic data from retrodigitized articles dates back to 1864.
Information about the MathSciNet database
Medline
MEDLINE covers the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry and the preclinical sciences and includes bibliographic citations and author abstracts from more than 4,600 biomedical journals published in the United States and 70 other countries. The file contains over 14 million citations dating back to the mid-1950's, made available through PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine (NLM) that provides access to bibliographic information to MEDLINE and more. Coverage is worldwide, but most records are from English-language sources or have English abstracts. More than 4,600 international clinical and research journals are indexed and abstracted. MEDLINE is also available through LexisNexis Academic with coverage from 1966 forward.
Information about the Medline database
Mental Measurements Yearbook
Contains full-text information about and reviews of all English-language standardized tests covering educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, psychology, and related areas as included in the printed Mental Measurements Yearbooks.
 
Mergent Online (formerly Moody's)
Provides key financial data for both American and international publicly traded companies. Company financial statements can be viewed in any currency at exchange rates in effect at the end of the fiscal period you select. This feature is useful in comparing companies from different countries. Moody's is especially useful for retrospective financial data. In addition, annual reports are available on Moody's.
Information about the Mergent Online (formerly Moody's) database
Military and Government Collection
Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military, this database offers a thorough collection of military titles, trade publications and newsweeklies. Military and Government Collection provides cover-to-cover full-text for nearly 300 periodicals. The database also includes full text for 245 pamphlets and offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 400 magazines. Some publications covered in this database include Air Force Controller, Military Review, Parameters, Defense, Business Week, Combat Edge, Economist, FBI Law Enforcement Bulletin, Foreign Affairs, Military Technology, Naval Forces, and many more. Many full text titles are available in native (searchable) PDF, or scanned-in-color. Full text information in this database dates as far back as 1975.
Information about the Military and Government Collection database
Mintel Reports
Provides market research report insights for market share, consumer profiles, forecasting, driving forces, and distribution methods on very specific consumer markets in the US. Users have access to approx. 800+ unique reports with 220 new reports created each year. Common data sources include: Simmons Consumer Research Information Resources, Inc., (IRI) Nielsen/NPD, Trade Associations and Mintel's unique consumer research.
 
MLA Directory of Periodicals
The MLA Directory of Periodicals offers detailed information on over 7,100 journals, with 4,400 currently indexed in the International Bibliography. The detailed entries include editorial contact information, as well as frequency, circulation, subscription prices and submission guidelines.
 
MLA International Bibliography
MLA International Bibliography is an index of journal articles, books and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association, the electronic version of the Bibliography dates back to the 1920s and contains over 1.8 million citations from more than 4,400 journals and series and 1,000 book publishers. Coverage is international and subjects include literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing. Listings on rhetoric and composition and the history, theory and practice of teaching language and literature are also included. The MLA Directory of Periodicals and the association's proprietary thesaurus are included.
Information about the MLA International Bibliography database
Mozart - Digital Edition
Operated by the Internationale Stiftung Mozarteum in cooperation with the Packard Humanities Institute, the Digital Mozart Edition offers the musical text and the critical commentary of the entire Neue Mozart-Ausgabe.
 

 

Terms of Use | Privacy Policy