Select a Database
Library Databases by Letter: N
| Database/Description | Guide |
|---|---|
| Naxos Music Library Classical music listening service with over 165,000 tracks of music from the Naxos and other independent music labels; includes background information such as complete liner notes. | |
| Naxos Music Library Jazz Comprehensive collection of jazz on the Naxos and Fantasy Jazz labels, features close to 20,000 tracks of jazz from over 1900 albums with over 500 jazz artists represented. | |
| Naxos Music Library Sheet Music The Naxos Music Library offers members over 45,000 sheet music titles, powered by the largest online digital sheet music store, FreeHandMusic.com. The library service delivers digital sheet music in all classical genres, spanning music from Medieval to the 21st century and composers from Bach to Arvo Part. You can download the music easily and print using a convenient shopping cart systems [no charge to Pepperdine patrons]; you will need to download the FreeHand Solero viewer. | |
| NBER Working Papers NBER Working Paper series - research findings from the National Bureau of Economic Research, a private non-profit engaged in quantitative analysis of the American economy; nearly 700 working papers are issued each year. | |
| netLibrary A collection of recent books in electronic format; some older books in the public domain are also available. Note for Mac users: to view netLibrary books properly, you will need to install a browser plug-in found at http://www.schubert-it.com/pluginpdf/. | |
| New Catholic Encyclopedia (2d ed 2003) Prized for its scholarly presentation of persons and subjects related to Catholicism and the humanities, this book is the first place to turn for answers for questions on topics such as abortion, divorce, cloning, and reproductive technologies. In addition to the hundreds of new, signed articles on a wide variety of topics, this edition also features biographies of contemporary religious figures, thousands of photos, maps, and illustrations, and completely updated bibliographical citations. The 15th volume is a cumulative index to the entire encyclopedia. | |
| New Testament Abstracts New Testament Abstracts contains more than 33,000 article abstracts, 1,200 review abstracts, 12,600 book abstracts, and 50 software abstracts dealing with the New Testament and its historical milieu. Article coverage dates back to 1985. | |
| New York Times (Historic) Includes not only news, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, and birth and marriage announcements, but also historical photos, stock photos, and advertisements. Every issue from 1851-2003 includes the complete paper -cover-to-cover- with full-page and article images in downloadable PDF. | |
| Newspaper Source Newspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for 25 national (U.S.) & international newspapers, including The Christian Science Monitor, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Washington Times, The Times (London), Toronto Star, etc. The database also contains selected full text for more than 260 regional (U.S.) newspapers, including The Boston Globe, Chicago Tribune, Detroit Free Press, The Miami Herald, Daily News (New York), San Jose Mercury News, etc. In addition, full text television & radio news transcripts are provided from CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, NPR, and others. | |
| North American Immigrant Letters/Diaries North American Immigrant Letters/Diaries consists of personal narratives such as letters, diaries, pamphlets, autobiographies, and oral histories, including several thousand indexed and searchable pages of Ellis Island Oral History interviews. The materials begin around 1840 and extend to the present, focusing heavily on the period from 1920 to 1980. People from many countries are represented, including more recent waves of immigrants from Latin America and Asia. IMLD provides perspectives both on North America and on the immigrants? countries of origin. | |
| North American Women's Letters and Diaries Spanning more than 300 years, the database presents the personal experiences of some 1325 women. The collection includes approximately 150,000 pages of letters and diaries from Colonial times to 1950, including 6,000 pages of previously unpublished manuscripts and 1,500 bibliographies. The material is drawn from more than 600 sources, including journal articles, pamphlets, newsletters, monographs, and conference proceedings and represents all age groups and life stages, a wide range of ethnicities, many geographic regions, the famous, and the not so famous. |



