Select a Database
Library Databases by Letter: P
| Database/Description | Guide |
|---|---|
| Philosopher's Index Provides indexing and abstracts from books and journals of philosophy and related fields. Covers the areas of ethics, aesthetics, social philosophy, political philosophy, epistemology, and metaphysic logic as well as material on the philosophy of law, religion, science, history, education, and language. | |
| Political Risk Yearbook in Business Source Premier Political Risk Yearbook Country risk reports are now found in the Business Source Premier database. To search for a Country Risk report, click on the Publications tab on the green bar at the top of the search screen in Business Source Premier. Enter the name of the country as "match any words" for all reports in the database on this country or enter "Political Risk Yearbook: Country name" to see only the Political Risk Yearbook report for the country. | |
| Primary Search An EBSCOhost database that contains full text for more than nearly 70 popular, elementary school magazines. All full text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for over 80 magazines. Examples of publications covered in Primary Search include: Appleseeds, Boys' Life, Cobblestone, Cricket, Highlights for Children, Hopscotch, Jack and Jill, Ladybug, Ranger Rick, Science World, Spider, SuperScience, Time for Kids, Turtle, and many more. This database also provides the American Heritage Children's Dictionary, 3rd Edition from Houghton Mifflin, and an Image Collection of 235,186 photos, maps and flags. Many full text titles are available in native (searchable) PDF, or scanned-in-color. Full text back files go as far back as 1990, while indexing and abstract back files go as far back as 1985. | |
| Primary Sources in African American History (LexisNexis) LexisNexis African American History is a collection of documents pertaining to African American history and women's studies, including guides to microforms. Using either the keyword search, subject search or browse option, users are able to access primary sources such as pictures and images, government documents, manuscripts, speeches, autobiographies and more. | |
| Primary Sources in American Women's History (LexisNexis) Available through LexisNexis, Primary Sources in American Women's History provides first-hand accounts by influential women, the full texts of laws and court decisions that define or have defined women's opportunities and rights, and scholarly articles on events and issues that pertain to women's studies. | |
| Project MUSE Provides online access to the full-text of over 300 scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences, and mathematics covering the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies. Includes hypertext links for efficient navigation among article bibliographies, citations, endnotes, author biographies and illustrations Project MUSE is a powerful research tool, allowing users to perform keyword and Boolean searching; search full text across all journals in the database, selected journal titles, or in just a single title; search the tables of contents of articles and book reviews by author and title as well as by Library of Congress subject headings. | |
| Projections of Education Statistics Projections for key education statistics include statistics on enrollment, graduates, teachers, and expenditures in elementary and secondary schools, and enrollment, earned degrees conferred, and current-fund expenditures of degree-granting institutions. For the Nation, the tables, figures, and text contain data on enrollment, teachers, graduates, and expenditures for the past 14 years in addition to projections. | |
| ProQuest databases ProQuest is organized into databases of related newspapers, magazines, and academic journals that you can use to find articles. The information in each database varies, depending on its focus. There are three types of ProQuest databases: non-historical databases, historical databases, and standalone databases. Non-historical databases, such as Research Library contain general reference information. These databases are cross-searchable, meaning you can search across multiple non-historical databases at the same time. Historical databases, such as New York Times (Historic), contain historical information. You can search multiple historical databases, but you cannot search historical and non-historical databases together. | |
| ProQuest Religion Religious news and commentary, details on doctrines and philosophies, and reports on religious history and related archeology; includes both formal theological studies and commentary on topics of general interest from the perspectives of specific religions. Citations and abstracts for nearly 120 titles; full-text, full-image or Text+Graphics available for most. | |
| PsycARTICLES Contains more than 100,000 full-text articles from 59 journals published by American Psychological Association and allied organizations. Coverage now spans from 1894 to the present and includes general psychology and specialized basic, applied, clinical, and theoretical research in psychology. | |
| PsycCRITIQUES PsycCRITIQUES is a searchable database of book reviews in psychology that replaces the print journal Contemporary Psychology: APA Review of Books. More than 36,000 reviews are included, dating back to 1956. | |
| PsychiatryOnline Portal featuring DSM-IV-TR, the most widely used psychiatric reference in the world and The American Journal of Psychiatry plus a collection of psychiatric references and journals from American Psychiatric Publishing, Inc., self-assessment tools, and clinical & research news. | |
| Psychoanalytic Electronic Publishing (PEP Web) PEP Web searches the current content of 17 major psychoanalytic journals and contains the full text of the eighteen premier psychoanalytic journals from 1920 to 2003 plus full text of the Standard Edition of the Complete Psychological Works of Sigmund Freud, and twenty-three classic psychoanalytic books. | |
| PsycINFO PsycINFO contains nearly 2.3 million citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations and technical reports, all in the field of psychology. Journal coverage, which spans from 1887 to present, includes international material selected from more than 2,100 periodicals in over 25 languages. More than 60,000 records are added each year. It also includes information about the psychological aspects of related disciplines such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business and law. | |
| PubMed Over 15 million citations for biomedical articles back to the 1950's from MEDLINE and additional life science journals. |



