Pepperdine University

Information

Select a Database

Library Databases by Letter: S

Database/DescriptionGuide
S and P Net Advantage
Standard & Poor?s NetAdvantage provides access to research products including Industry Surveys, Stock Reports, Mutual Fund Reports, Bond Reports, Corporation Records, The Register of Corporations, Directors and Executives, and The Outlook, among others. Includes financials as Excel Analytics for both U.S. and global companies.
Information about the S and P Net Advantage database
Sage Journals Online
Provides online access to the full text of individual SAGE journals. SAGE Publications publishes over 460 journals in Business, Communication, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Medicine.
Information about the Sage Journals Online database
Scholarships, Fellowships and Loans
Provides more than 4,200 sources of education-related financial aid and awards at all levels of study. Includes a section on federal financial aid and a state-by-state listing of agencies.
Information about the Scholarships, Fellowships and Loans database
ScienceDirect
Provides indexing and abstracting for over 2,500 scientific, technical and medical journals as well as access to 503 full-text Elsevier journals, and titles subscribed to by Pepperdine University Libraries, through the SCELC consortium, plus 45 titles in the Psychology backfile.
Information about the ScienceDirect database
SciFinder Scholar
Available: In Payson Library & Chemistry Faculty Offices Limit: Two (2) simultaneous users SciFinder Scholar provides online access to several databases, including Chemical Abstracts, Registry, CASREACT, CHEMLIST, CHEMCAT, and MEDLINE. SciFinder Scholar requires client software for either Apple Macintosh or MS Windows and acceptance of the Chemical Abstracts User Agreement for SciFinder Scholar. No special training or knowledge of search command languages are required.
 
Scirus
Comprehensive science-specific search engine locates scientific, scholarly, technical and medical data on the Web searching over 200 million Web pages that include reports, peer-reviewed articles, patents, pre prints and journals.
Information about the Scirus database
Scopus
Scopus offers more coverage of scientific, technical, medical and social science literature (14,000 titles) than any other database, full text links directly from the results list, abstracts back to 1966, a full 10-year reference backfile, daily updates, innovative tools to help you refine your search to relevant results, and alerts for you to keep abreast of your research topic.
Information about the Scopus database
Scottish Women Poets of the Romantic Period
An electronic collection of over sixty volumes of lyric poetry by Scottish women, written between 1789 and 1832. The database includes the works of approximately 50 women poets, each with bio-bibliographical sketches or essays, including what is known about their lives, and a bibliography of their primary works and of criticism and reviews. Voices represent women from every social, economic, political, and religious stratum.
Information about the Scottish Women Poets of the Romantic Period database
Serials Directory
The Serials Directory provides access to the most up-to-date and accurate bibliographic information as well as current pricing structures for popular serials. It contains over 212,000 U.S. and international titles, including newspapers; historical data for an additional 20,000 titles; data from over 108,235 publishers worldwide, including e-mail and Internet addresses; and Library of Congress and Dewey Decimal Classifications for every entry.
Information about the Serials Directory database
Shakespeare Survey
Shakespeare Survey is a yearbook of Shakespeare studies and production. Since 1948 Survey has published the best international scholarship in English and many of its essays have become classics of Shakespeare criticism. Each volume is devoted to a theme, or play, or group of plays; each also contains a section of reviews of that year's textual and critical studies, and of the year's major British performances. Shakespeare Survey Online makes all issues of the Survey, including over 90% of the original images, available online for the first time.
Information about the Shakespeare Survey database
Social Sciences Citation Index
Provides current and retrospective bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references to more than 1,800 of the world's leading scholarly social sciences journals covering more than 50 disciplines plus individually selected, relevant items from approximately 3,300 of the world's leading science and technology journals. Updated weekly. Coverage: 1997 to present.
Information about the Social Sciences Citation Index database
SPORTDiscus with Full Text
SPORTDiscus with Full Text offers comprehensive, bibliographic and full text coverage of sport, fitness and related disciplines, including over 350 full text titles. The database contains over 1,200,000 records with journal and monograph coverage going back to 1800; over 20,000 dissertations and theses and reference to articles in 60 different languages.
Information about the SPORTDiscus with Full Text database
SpringerLink
Access to electronic versions of journal published by Kluwer and Springer. In addition to journals subscribed to by Pepperdine, a consortial arrangement allows access to journals subscribed to by a number of other SCELC members.
 
SRDS Media Solutions
Delivers accurate, up-to-date media information including detailed ad rates, dates and contact data plus demographic information; catalogs more than 100,000 U.S. and international media properties. Also, available in print at Payson Library.
 
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Stanford University's Encyclopedia of Philosophy is a dynamic reference work written, refereed, and maintained by over 950 professional philosophers.
Information about the Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy database
STAT-USA/Internet
STAT-USA, an agency in the Economics and Statistics Administration, U.S. Department of Commerce, provides complete online information on the National Trade Data Bank, the Economic Bulletin Board, Global Business Procurement Opportunities, and the Bureau of Economic Analysis Economic Information.
Information about the STAT-USA/Internet database
Statistical Abstract of the United States
The Statistical Abstract of the United States, published since 1878, is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Sources of data include the Census Bureau, Bureau of Labor Statistics, Bureau of Economic Analysis, and many other Federal agencies and private organizations
 

 

Terms of Use | Privacy Policy