Pepperdine University

Information

Select a Database

Library Databases by Letter: W

Database/DescriptionGuide
Web of Science: Social Sciences Citation Index
Provides current and retrospective bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references to more than 1,800 of the world's leading scholarly social sciences journals covering more than 50 disciplines plus individually selected, relevant items from approximately 3,300 of the world's leading science and technology journals. Updated weekly. Coverage: 1997 to present.
Information about the Web of Science: Social Sciences Citation Index database
Wharton Research Data Services
WRDS is a platform that provides instant access to important databases in the fields of finance, accounting, banking, economics, management, marketing and public policy. Currently Pepperdine subscribes to COMPUSTAT, CRSP, and KLD. Access is limited to Pepperdine faculty, staff, and doctoral students. Users must apply for account access and be approved by the Pepperdine WRDS representative the first time they log in.
Information about the Wharton Research Data Services database
Wiley InterScience
Wiley InterScience provides access to the full-text of 213 journals plus access to the citations and abstracts of approximately 800 additional titles. Wiley InterScience also provides access to Steven's Handbook of Experimental Psychology.
Information about the Wiley InterScience database
Women and Social Movements Scholar's Edition
Women and Social Movements currently includes 76 document projects with more than 2,200 documents, 30,000 pages of additional full-text documents, and 1,640 primary authors. It includes as well book, film and website reviews, notes from the archives, and teaching tools. The Scholar?s Edition will include The Women's Commission Reports, an archive of the publications and documents of local, state, and federal Commissions on the Status of Women from 1963 to the present. At this time, the database includes the full text of 590 reports and publications issued by commissions in more than thirty states. When complete this collection will contain 75,000 pages of publications from commissions in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, Guam, and the Virgin Islands. The publications include reports, pamphlets, posters, and ephemeral materials.
 
Women Writers On-Line
Full-text database consisting of pre-Victorian women's writing in English. The database is a collection of primary source, rare works encoded in SGML providing search capabilities. The database includes Renaissance Women Online, which contains topic essays and contextual pieces as well.
Information about the Women Writers On-Line database
World Education Encyclopedia (2d ed. 2001)
This country-by-country survey of educational systems provides detailed essays on the histories, legal foundations, and primary and secondary educational systems of 233 countries.
Information about the World Education Encyclopedia (2d ed. 2001) database
World Marketing Data and Statistics
World Marketing Data and Statistics allows one to access market research reports, forecasted economic data, demographic information and company profiles. 205 countries are researched, with extended coverage of 52. All figures can be converted to US Dollars for easy cross-country comparison and downloaded to Microsoft Excel. [Now available as part of the Global Market Information Database]
Information about the World Marketing Data and Statistics database
World Press Encyclopedia: a survey of press systems worldwide
Comprehensive survey of press and electronic media which covers nearly 200 countries. Entries include an overview of the background, economic framework and general characteristics of each country's press plus the number and type of media, press laws, censorship issues, state-press relations, news agencies, electronic news media, education and training in journalism.
Information about the World Press Encyclopedia: a survey of press systems worldwide database
WorldCat
OCLC's Online Union Catalog contains bibliographic records of all types of materials owned by libraries around the world. WorldCat covers materials dating back to the 11th century, includes holdings information from libraries in 45 countries and is updated daily.
Information about the WorldCat database
Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations (12th ed. 2007)
Presents information on 200 countries and dependencies from around the world. Entries discuss a variety of topics in detail, from banking and securities to climate, from government data to demographic statistics. Also includes biographical essays on national leaders.
Information about the Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations (12th ed. 2007) database
Worldwide Internet Music Resources
This music resource list of worldwide internet journals, magazines, newspapers, and periodicals is offered as a service of the William and Gale Cook Music Library at Indiana University's School of Music.
 

 

Terms of Use | Privacy Policy