Pepperdine University

Information

Select a Database

Library Databases by Subject: Books and Book Reviews

Database/DescriptionGuide
Academic Search Elite
An EBSCO database that provides full text coverage of over 2,050 journals, including nearly 1,500 peer-reviewed titles in the social sciences, humanities, general science, multi-cultural studies, education and more. Full-text coverage back to 1985.
Information about the Academic Search Elite database
America: History and Life
Indexes and abstracts scholarly literature from journals, dissertations and book and media reviews on the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Indexing covers 1,700 journals from 1964 to the present. Strong English-language journal coverage is balanced by an international perspective on topics and events, including abstracts in English of articles published in more than 40 languages.
Information about the America: History and Life database
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials
Citations to journal articles, essays, book reviews, ministry reports and theses of interest to faculty and majors in the field of religion. This full-text version of the ATLA Religion Database provides a collection of major theology and religious journals reflecting all major faiths, denominations and language groups. More than 600 journals are indexed annually. The database includes more than 1.3 million bibliographic records, including more than 488,000 article citations from more than 1,500 journals (506 currently indexed), journal articles, more than 200,000 essay citations, and more than 400,000 book review citations. Coverage dates back to 1949.
Information about the ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials database
Book Review Digest Plus
Book Review Digest Plus cites and excerpts reviews of over 8,000 current English-language fiction and nonfiction books for adults and children, excluding reviews of textbooks, government publications, and technical books in law and the sciences. Book Review Digest Plus includes over 115,000 full text reviews and is updated daily. It covers periodicals published in the United States, Canada, and Great Britain since 1983, and includes only reviews that have appeared within 18 months of the book's publication.
Information about the Book Review Digest Plus database
Child Development & Adolescent Studies
Produced by NISC, Child Development & Adolescent Studies includes references to the current and historical literature related to growth and development of children through the age of 21. Book reviews and abstracts from hundreds of journals and a bibliography of thousands of technical reports, books, book chapters, theses and dissertations covering biomedical and social sciences worldwide are indexed. More than 201,860 records are included with over 10,000 new records added each year.
Information about the Child Development & Adolescent Studies database
Choice Reviews Online
The online version of the print magazine Choice, this database contains reviews of significant current books and electronic resources of interest to those in higher education. The database is updated monthly, generally at mid-month, with reviews that will be printed in the next monthly issue. Reviews published since 1988 are included.
Information about the Choice Reviews Online database
ebrary Academic Complete
ebrary and Pepperdine University Libraries have partnered to bring you online access to over 32,000 authoritative titles with concentrations in Business and Economics, Computers and Technology, Humanities, the Social Sciences, and more.
Information about the ebrary Academic Complete database
EBSCOhost databases
EBSCOhost is a powerful online reference system accessible via the Internet. It offers a variety of proprietary full-text databases and popular databases from leading information providers. The comprehensive databases range from general reference collections to specially designed, subject-specific databases for public, academic, medical, corporate and school libraries.
Information about the EBSCOhost databases database
Google Scholar
Search for relevant scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.
Information about the Google Scholar database
Historical Abstracts
Reference guide to the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada) includes over 600,000 annotated bibliographic citations to articles and book reviews in over 2000 journals, plus citations to abstracts of dissertations completed worldwide of particular interest for historical research. Available online articles are provided by J-STOR and Project Muse, to which Historical Abstracts provides a direct link.
Information about the Historical Abstracts database
Iter
Iter's bibliography covers all literature pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700). Citations for journal articles, reviews, review articles, bibliographies, catalogues, abstracts and discographies are included. Also included are citations for monographs, and material published in monographs and collections of essays. To date, 1,555 scholarly journal titles, published since 1784, as well as elected essays from 4,401 scholarly collections of essays published since 1996 have been indexed.
 
LexisNexis Academic
LexisNexis Academic indexes and provides full-text coverage of approximately 5,600 newspapers, magazines, wire services, federal and state court opinions, federal and state statutes, federal regulations and SEC filings such as 10-K's and 10-Q's. It also provides access to company profiles, industry and market research information and trade journals. The Medline database is available through LexisNexis Academic.
Information about the LexisNexis Academic database
Literature Online (LION)
A fully searchable library of more than 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, 200 full-text literature journals, and other key criticism and reference resources, including the Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL) that contains over 880,000 records of literary criticism from 1920 to current.
Information about the Literature Online (LION) database
MAS Ultra - School Edition
This comprehensive database, designed specifically for high school libraries, contains full text for nearly 500 popular, high school magazines. All full text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Full text is also available for 84,774 biographies and 100,554 primary source documents. Additionally, MAS Ultra - School Edition contains more than 350 reference books (including the Columbia Encyclopedia, the CIA World Fact Book and World Almanac & Book of Facts), an Image Collection of 235,186 photos, maps & flags, color PDFs and expanded full text backfiles (back to 1975) for key magazines.
Information about the MAS Ultra - School Edition database
MathSciNet
A comprehensive database covering the world's mathematical literature, providing Web access to the signed reviews and bibliographic data from Mathematical Reviews and Current Mathematical Publications. Over 80,000 new items are added each year. MathSciNet contains over 2 million items and over 700,000 direct links to original articles; bibliographic data from retrodigitized articles dates back to 1864.
Information about the MathSciNet database
MLA International Bibliography
MLA International Bibliography is an index of journal articles, books and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association, the electronic version of the Bibliography dates back to the 1920s and contains over 1.8 million citations from more than 4,400 journals and series and 1,000 book publishers. Coverage is international and subjects include literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing. Listings on rhetoric and composition and the history, theory and practice of teaching language and literature are also included. The MLA Directory of Periodicals and the association's proprietary thesaurus are included.
Information about the MLA International Bibliography database
netLibrary
A collection of recent books in electronic format; some older books in the public domain are also available. Note for Mac users: to view netLibrary books properly, you will need to install a browser plug-in found at http://www.schubert-it.com/pluginpdf/.
Information about the netLibrary database
Project MUSE
Provides online access to the full-text of over 300 scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences, and mathematics covering the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies. Includes hypertext links for efficient navigation among article bibliographies, citations, endnotes, author biographies and illustrations Project MUSE is a powerful research tool, allowing users to perform keyword and Boolean searching; search full text across all journals in the database, selected journal titles, or in just a single title; search the tables of contents of articles and book reviews by author and title as well as by Library of Congress subject headings.
Information about the Project MUSE database
ProQuest databases
ProQuest is organized into databases of related newspapers, magazines, and academic journals that you can use to find articles. The information in each database varies, depending on its focus. There are three types of ProQuest databases: non-historical databases, historical databases, and standalone databases. Non-historical databases, such as Research Library contain general reference information. These databases are cross-searchable, meaning you can search across multiple non-historical databases at the same time. Historical databases, such as New York Times (Historic), contain historical information. You can search multiple historical databases, but you cannot search historical and non-historical databases together.
Information about the ProQuest databases database
PsycINFO
PsycINFO contains nearly 2.3 million citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations and technical reports, all in the field of psychology. Journal coverage, which spans from 1887 to present, includes international material selected from more than 2,100 periodicals in over 25 languages. More than 60,000 records are added each year. It also includes information about the psychological aspects of related disciplines such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business and law.
Information about the PsycINFO database
RCLWeb
Resources for College Libraries includes a core list of print and electronic titles in 58 curriculum-specific subject areas chosen by 300 subject-expert editors and contributors. RCL is the successor to the third ed.(1988) of Books for College Libraries and will be updated quarterly.
 
Readers' Guide Retrospective
Readers' Guide Retrospective, produced by The H. W. Wilson Company, is a database containing comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America. Current coverage for this database includes the years 1890 through 1982.
Information about the Readers' Guide Retrospective database
RefWorks
RefWorks is a Web-based bibliography and database manager that allows users to create their own personal database by importing references from text files or online databases. Users can use these references in writing their papers and automatically format the paper and the bibliography in seconds. As a web-based product, RefWorks is available to users across various platforms including Windows, Mac, and Unix. Pepperdine users also have access to Write-N-Cite, which is a utility which allows Windows, Mac, and Linux users to run an abbreviated version of RefWorks in their word processors and RefShare, which allows the sharing of RefWorks folders with others.
Information about the RefWorks database
Research Library
Research Library provides access to popular and scholarly journals in the social sciences, humanities, business, health, education and general science. It includes citations and abstracts for over 3,820 journals from 1972 forward. Full-text and/or full-image is available for over 2,500 journals from 1972 forward.
Information about the Research Library database
Scopus
Scopus offers more coverage of scientific, technical, medical and social science literature (14,000 titles) than any other database, full text links directly from the results list, abstracts back to 1966, a full 10-year reference backfile, daily updates, innovative tools to help you refine your search to relevant results, and alerts for you to keep abreast of your research topic.
Information about the Scopus database
The Times Digital Archive (1785 - 1985)
Search through the complete digital edition of The Times (London), using keyword searching and hit-term highlighting to retrieve full facsimile images of either a specific article or a complete page. The entire newspaper is captured, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching.
 
Vault Online Career Library
The Vault Undergraduate Online Career Library is a source of career information. It will make your efforts at researching employers, industries, and career subjects easier and more efficient. This new online resource contains downloadable e-books, Vault Career Guides, employer profiles, more than 3,500 company profiles and 1,100 Vault career advice articles, and industry and occupational profiles. Users also have access to over 2.5 million message postings on the Electronic Watercooler for insider information.
Information about the Vault Online Career Library database
WorldCat
OCLC's Online Union Catalog contains bibliographic records of all types of materials owned by libraries around the world. WorldCat covers materials dating back to the 11th century, includes holdings information from libraries in 45 countries and is updated daily.
Information about the WorldCat database

 

Terms of Use | Privacy Policy