Select a Database
Library Databases by Subject: Humanities
| Database/Description | Guide |
|---|---|
| Academic Search Elite An EBSCO database that provides full text coverage of over 2,050 journals, including nearly 1,500 peer-reviewed titles in the social sciences, humanities, general science, multi-cultural studies, education and more. Full-text coverage back to 1985. | |
| ACLS Humanities E-Book (formerly History E-Book) A project led by the American Council of Learned Societies (ACLS), the HEB project now includes the full text of over 1500 titles and is expanding to include most humanities disciplines and area studies. It includes books that remain vital to both scholars and advanced students and are frequently cited in the literature. Approximately 300 books are added annually to the collection. | |
| Acronyms, initialisms & abbreviations dictionary Definitions of a wide variety of acronyms, initialisms, abbreviations and similar contractions enable you to quickly and easily translate terms into their full names or meanings. | |
| AFI Catalog Compiled by the American Film Institute, this national filmography documents around 46,000 American feature films from 1893-1970, providing full production and cast information as well as extensive plot summaries and notes. | |
| Alternative Press Index (AltPressIndex) With an international and interdisciplinary focus, Alternative Press Index journals document cultural, economic, political and social change, providing in-depth coverage in the humanities and social sciences. Updated quarterly, this database indexes nearly 300 alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines and includes selected abstracts from research journals. | |
| America's Historical Newspapers Series I offers more than 700 historical American newspapers from 23 states and the District of Columbia printed between 1690 and 1876 and is based on Clarence S. Brigham's "History and Bibliography of American Newspapers, 1690-1820" and other authoritative bibliographies. | |
| America: History and Life Indexes and abstracts scholarly literature from journals, dissertations and book and media reviews on the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Indexing covers 1,700 journals from 1964 to the present. Strong English-language journal coverage is balanced by an international perspective on topics and events, including abstracts in English of articles published in more than 40 languages. | |
| The American Civil War: Letters and Diaries Includes detailed firsthand descriptions of historical characters, glimpses of daily life in the army and at home, anecdotes about key events and personages. | |
| American Decades (Gale) Cross-disciplinary source for those who need a single, consistent reference to document and analyze periods of contemporary American social history. | |
| American Film Scripts Online American Film Scripts Online (AFSO) is an ongoing project to digitize and thoroughly index 1,000 film scripts. This release contains 823 scripts by 969 writers; most of the scripts have never been published before, and nowhere else are they available online. The primary focus of the database is the written work, rather than the film itself. It allows users to see and understand the structure of films, character development, beginnings and endings, plot points and scenes. The database has been engineered to provide access at the scene or character level. | |
| American National Biography Offers portraits of more than 17,400 men and women -- from all eras and walks of life -- whose lives have shaped the nation. Updated quarterly with hundreds of new and revised entries, the ANB Online features thousands of illustrations, more than 80,000 hyperlinked cross-references, links to select web sites, and powerful search capabilities. Includes over 900 articles from The Oxford Companion to United States History, providing historical and social context to the biographies. | |
| Annals of American History U.S. history from 1493 to modern times in over 2,000 primary documents plus images, video and audio clips. Document types include historical accounts, speeches, memoirs, poems, editorials and cultural criticism discussing government, foreign relations, business, war, the arts, family life and religion. | |
| Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL) The Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature contains 880,000 records, covering monographs, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews and collections of essays published anywhere in the world from 1920 onwards. | |
| Art Full Text Wilson Art Full Text indexes and abstracts articles from from more than 480 periodicals, many of them peer-reviewed, published throughout the world. Subjects covered include advertising art, antiques, archaeology, architecture and architectural history, art history, computers in art, crafts, decorative arts, fashion design, folk art, graphic arts, industrial design, interior design, landscape architecture, motion pictures, museology, non-western art, painting, photography, pottery, sculpture, television, textiles and video. Coverage includes the full text of 160 journals beginning January 1997. | |
| Asian American Drama Asian American Drama brings together more than 250 plays, along with related biographical, production and theatrical information, providing a comprehensive overview of this growing field. The collection begins with the works of Sadakichi Hartmann in the late nineteenth century and includes contemporary playwrights, such as Philip Kan Gotanda, Elizabeth Wong, and Jeannie Barroga. The plays present the lives and struggles of Asians in North America and views of important historical events, such as the construction of the railroads in the nineteenth century, the internment of Japanese Americans during World War II, and the Vietnam conflict. The plays also address sociological issues, such as assimilation, integration, and cultural identity in a Western context. The effect of Western religion is also examined. | |
| ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials Citations to journal articles, essays, book reviews, ministry reports and theses of interest to faculty and majors in the field of religion. This full-text version of the ATLA Religion Database provides a collection of major theology and religious journals reflecting all major faiths, denominations and language groups. More than 600 journals are indexed annually. The database includes more than 1.3 million bibliographic records, including more than 488,000 article citations from more than 1,500 journals (506 currently indexed), journal articles, more than 200,000 essay citations, and more than 400,000 book review citations. Coverage dates back to 1949. | |
| Biography Resource Center Provides biographical information on more than 340,000 people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas. Besides biographical narratives, the database provides full-text articles from more than 300 periodicals and includes more than 26,000 images. | |
| Black Drama Contains the full text of 1,200 plays written from the mid-1800s to the present by more than 100 playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries. The database is composed of three parts. Part 1 covers key writings of the Harlem Renaissance, works performed for the Federal Theatre Project, and plays by critically acclaimed dramatists of the 1940s. The second part of the collection covers the Black Arts movement of the sixties and seventies and works performed by the Black Arts Repertory Theatre/School (BARTS), The Negro Ensemble Company, and other companies. Part 3 focuses on plays that deal with the social and political ills stemming from colonialism, slavery, and apartheid; the struggle for independence; African history; and neo-colonialism. | |
| Black Thought and Culture Black Thought and Culture provides approximately 100,000 pages of monographs, essays, articles, speeches, and interviews written by leaders within the black community from the earliest times to the present. In addition to well-known works, when completed, the collection will feature unique, fugitive and never-before-published materials, including the first-ever complete full run of the Black Panther newspaper. The collection is intended for research in black studies, political science, American history, music, literature, and art. This ninth release of Black Thought and Culture includes approximately 1297 sources and 1100 authors (March 2007). | |
| Book Review Digest Plus Book Review Digest Plus cites and excerpts reviews of over 8,000 current English-language fiction and nonfiction books for adults and children, excluding reviews of textbooks, government publications, and technical books in law and the sciences. Book Review Digest Plus includes over 115,000 full text reviews and is updated daily. It covers periodicals published in the United States, Canada, and Great Britain since 1983, and includes only reviews that have appeared within 18 months of the book's publication. | |
| British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries Spans more than 400 years of personal writings, bringing together the voices of women from England, Scotland, Ireland, and Wales. The database includes approximately 100,000 pages of material assembled from numerous bibliographies and from newly conducted research as well as 4,000 pages of previously unpublished manuscripts. Extending back to 1500, all forms of diaries - religious, travel, and journalistic - enrich the content of the collection. | |
| Child Development & Adolescent Studies Produced by NISC, Child Development & Adolescent Studies includes references to the current and historical literature related to growth and development of children through the age of 21. Book reviews and abstracts from hundreds of journals and a bibliography of thousands of technical reports, books, book chapters, theses and dissertations covering biomedical and social sciences worldwide are indexed. More than 201,860 records are included with over 10,000 new records added each year. | |
| Choice Reviews Online The online version of the print magazine Choice, this database contains reviews of significant current books and electronic resources of interest to those in higher education. The database is updated monthly, generally at mid-month, with reviews that will be printed in the next monthly issue. Reviews published since 1988 are included. | |
| CIOS (Communication Institute for Online Scholarship) Provides access to a communication resource library, scholarly conference information, the ComAbstracts index, the new ComWeb Mega Search system for accessing more than 350 communication web sites, and electronic services for several important communication societies. | |
| Communication Studies: A Sage Full-Text Collection Communication Studies: A Sage Full-Text Collection provides electronic access to the full text of over 5,000 articles in 19 Sage Publications journals, including up to 20 years of back files. Subjects covered include journalism, mass communication, interpersonal communication, intercultural communication, cultural studies, discourse studies, media studies, political communication, business communication, rhetoric, and literary studies. | |
| CQ Researcher This weekly publication covers the most current and controversial issues of the day with complete summaries, insight into all sides of the issues, bibliographies and more. | |
| CQ Weekly Access to the full text of all articles published since 1983. Users may browse through articles in the current issue or search for past articles by words, dates, subjects or other criteria. The database also provides users with access to some CQ Weekly articles prior to when they are available in print. | |
| Digital National Security Archive The DNSA provides a collection of primary documents central to US foreign and military policy since 1945. Nearly 43,000 declassified documents are included in a group of 22 collections, each focused on a single topic. Each collection contains a range of policy documents including presidential directives, memos, diplomatic dispatches, meeting notes, independent reports, briefing papers, White House communications, email and confidential letters. Most of the documents in the DNSA collection were obtained through the use of the US Freedom of Information Act. | |
| Dissertations & Theses With more than 2 million entries, Proquest Dissertations & Theses (PQD&T) is the single, central, authoritative resource for information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses. Dissertations published from 1980 forward include 350-word abstracts written by the author. Master's theses published from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts. | |
| Early American Newspapers, Series I Series I offers more than 700 historical American newspapers from 23 states and the District of Columbia printed between 1690 and 1876 and is based on Clarence S. Brigham's "History and Bibliography of American Newspapers, 1690-1820" and other authoritative bibliographies. | |
| Early Encounters in North America: Peoples, Cultures, and the Environment Documents the relationships among peoples in North America from 1534-1850. The collection focuses on personal accounts and provides unique perspectives from all of the protagonists, including traders, slaves, missionaries, explorers, soldiers, native peoples, and officials, both men and women. The project brings coherence to a wide range of published and unpublished accounts, including narratives, diaries, journals, and letters. | |
| Early English Books Online Contains over 125,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgraves's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640), Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700), and the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661), dating back to the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the turmoil of the English Civil War. Featured authors include Malory, Bacon, More, Erasmus, Boyle, Newton, Galileo; musical exercises by Henry Purcell and novels by Aphra Behn. Primary sources such as prayer books, pamphlets, proclamations, almanacs, and calendars are provided as images which can be downloaded in Adobe Acrobat PDF. | |
| ebrary Academic Complete ebrary and Pepperdine University Libraries have partnered to bring you online access to over 32,000 authoritative titles with concentrations in Business and Economics, Computers and Technology, Humanities, the Social Sciences, and more. | |
| EBSCOhost databases EBSCOhost is a powerful online reference system accessible via the Internet. It offers a variety of proprietary full-text databases and popular databases from leading information providers. The comprehensive databases range from general reference collections to specially designed, subject-specific databases for public, academic, medical, corporate and school libraries. | |
| EconLit EconLit, the American Economic Association's electronic database, contains more than 785,000 records from 1969-present. covering virtually every area related to economics. | |
| Essay and General Literature Index (Wilson) A bibliographic database that cites essays and articles contained in collections of essays and miscellaneous works focusing on the humanities and social sciences, with subject coverage ranging from economics, political science, and history to criticism of literary works, drama, and film. | |
| Family and Society Studies Worldwide Provides indexing and abstracting of research, policy, and practice literature in the fields of family science, human ecology, human development, and social welfare. Journals, books, conference papers, government reports, and popular literature are indexed. | |
| Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text Comprehensive bibliographic database covering the entire spectrum of television and film writing. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews. | |
| Film Index International A filmography that gives fully international coverage of around 118,000 films and 685,000 film personalities from over 170 countries. It includes coverage of international film awards and prizes as well as searchable plot summaries and full cast and crew lists. | |
| Film Literature Index The Film Literature Index (FLI) annually indexes 150 film and television periodicals from 30 countries cover-to-cover and 200 other periodicals selectively for articles on film and television. The periodicals range from the scholarly to the popular. More than 2,000 subject headings provide detailed analysis of the articles. | |
| Google Scholar Search for relevant scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. | |
| Grove Art Online Covers all aspects of the visual arts worldwide from prehistory to the present day. All 45,050 articles from the print edition are accessible by keyword search and include over 40,000 links to important art images in galleries and museums around the world. | |
| HAPI Online The Hispanic American Periodical Index (HAPI) provides access to over 265,000 journal article citations about Central America, South America, the Caribbean, Mexico, Brazil, and Hispanics/Latinos in the United States from 1970 to the present. | |
| Historical Abstracts Reference guide to the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada) includes over 600,000 annotated bibliographic citations to articles and book reviews in over 2000 journals, plus citations to abstracts of dissertations completed worldwide of particular interest for historical research. Available online articles are provided by J-STOR and Project Muse, to which Historical Abstracts provides a direct link. | |
| ICPSR Direct ICPSR (Interuniversity Consortium for Political and Social Research) holds the world's largest collection of computer-readable social science data. These data can be used for both research and instructional activities. First time users will be asked to create an ICPSR MyData account. | |
| In the First Person In the First Person is an index to English language personal narratives, including letters, diaries, memoirs, autobiographies, and oral histories. Some are available on the Web, some through Pepperdine's subscriptions to Alexander Street Press collections, and some are held by repositories and archives around the world. Perform in-depth field and keyword searches across letters, diaries, oral histories, memoirs, and autobiographies within Alexander Street Press databases and more than one million pages of editorially selected materials spanning 400 years. | |
| International Index of Music Periodicals The International Index of Music Periodicals (IIMP) indexes over 430 international music periodicals from over 20 countries with around 125 full-text titles. IIMP covers nearly all aspects of the world of music, from the most scholarly studies to the latest crazes. | |
| Iter Iter's bibliography covers all literature pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700). Citations for journal articles, reviews, review articles, bibliographies, catalogues, abstracts and discographies are included. Also included are citations for monographs, and material published in monographs and collections of essays. To date, 1,555 scholarly journal titles, published since 1784, as well as elected essays from 4,401 scholarly collections of essays published since 1996 have been indexed. | |
| JSTOR Includes an extensive archive of journals in 30 subject disciplines in the Arts and Sciences, including classical studies, ecology, economics, history, language and literature, mathematics, music, the history and study of art and architecture, cultural studies, film, folklore, performing arts, philosophy, political science, sociology, and religion. Records are presented in high-resolution page images in combination with full-text searching. | |
| King James Bible (1611) The King James or Authorized Version of the Bible was printed in 1611 and became the standard edition of the Bible for nearly three centuries. Arguably the most influential single document for English literary studies, this fully searchable online version presents the full text (of the "He" version) with all introductory matter, annotation, calendars, genealogies and tables. | |
| LexisNexis Primary Sources in U.S. History Access to a variety of primary and secondary materials covering the colonial era to the present day. New documents are added to the service quarterly. | |
| Literature Online (LION) A fully searchable library of more than 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, 200 full-text literature journals, and other key criticism and reference resources, including the Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL) that contains over 880,000 records of literary criticism from 1920 to current. | |
| Literature Resource Center The Literature Resource Center is a literature reference database that combines biographical, bibliographical, and contextual information to deliver a resource package on authors and their works (fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, and journalism). It includes information from the following works: Contemporary Authors, Dictionary of Literary Biography, Contemporary Literary Criticism, Classical and Medieval Literature and Criticism, Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism, Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism, Shakespeare Criticism, Drama Criticism, Poetry Criticism, Short Story Criticism, and Literature Criticism 1400-1800. | |
| LitFinder Covering world literature and authors throughout history, LitFinder contains a wealth of literary works including over 150,000 full-text poems and 800,000+ poetry citations, as well as short stories, speeches, and plays. For those seeking a deeper view into literature, LitFinder also includes secondary materials like biographies, images, and more! From Shakespeare's sonnets to poems by Donald Hall or short stories from Edgar Allan Poe to works by Annie Proulx, LitFinder has you covered. | |
| Los Angeles Times (Historic) Every issue from 1881-1985 includes the complete paper -cover-to-cover- with full-page and article images in downloadable PDF. | |
| MLA Directory of Periodicals The MLA Directory of Periodicals offers detailed information on over 7,100 journals, with 4,400 currently indexed in the International Bibliography. The detailed entries include editorial contact information, as well as frequency, circulation, subscription prices and submission guidelines. | |
| MLA International Bibliography MLA International Bibliography is an index of journal articles, books and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association, the electronic version of the Bibliography dates back to the 1920s and contains over 1.8 million citations from more than 4,400 journals and series and 1,000 book publishers. Coverage is international and subjects include literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing. Listings on rhetoric and composition and the history, theory and practice of teaching language and literature are also included. The MLA Directory of Periodicals and the association's proprietary thesaurus are included. | |
| netLibrary A collection of recent books in electronic format; some older books in the public domain are also available. Note for Mac users: to view netLibrary books properly, you will need to install a browser plug-in found at http://www.schubert-it.com/pluginpdf/. | |
| New York Times (Historic) Includes not only news, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, and birth and marriage announcements, but also historical photos, stock photos, and advertisements. Every issue from 1851-2003 includes the complete paper -cover-to-cover- with full-page and article images in downloadable PDF. | |
| Newspaper Source Newspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for 25 national (U.S.) & international newspapers, including The Christian Science Monitor, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Washington Times, The Times (London), Toronto Star, etc. The database also contains selected full text for more than 260 regional (U.S.) newspapers, including The Boston Globe, Chicago Tribune, Detroit Free Press, The Miami Herald, Daily News (New York), San Jose Mercury News, etc. In addition, full text television & radio news transcripts are provided from CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, NPR, and others. | |
| North American Immigrant Letters/Diaries North American Immigrant Letters/Diaries consists of personal narratives such as letters, diaries, pamphlets, autobiographies, and oral histories, including several thousand indexed and searchable pages of Ellis Island Oral History interviews. The materials begin around 1840 and extend to the present, focusing heavily on the period from 1920 to 1980. People from many countries are represented, including more recent waves of immigrants from Latin America and Asia. IMLD provides perspectives both on North America and on the immigrants? countries of origin. | |
| North American Women's Letters and Diaries Spanning more than 300 years, the database presents the personal experiences of some 1325 women. The collection includes approximately 150,000 pages of letters and diaries from Colonial times to 1950, including 6,000 pages of previously unpublished manuscripts and 1,500 bibliographies. The material is drawn from more than 600 sources, including journal articles, pamphlets, newsletters, monographs, and conference proceedings and represents all age groups and life stages, a wide range of ethnicities, many geographic regions, the famous, and the not so famous. | |
| Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center draws on the acclaimed social issues series published by Greenhaven Press, as well as core reference content from other Gale and Macmillan Reference USA sources to provide a complete one-stop source for information on social issues. Access viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles. | |
| Oxford African American Studies Center Contains over 7,500 articles by top scholars and hundreds of primary source documents, images, maps, and charts and tables. | |
| Oxford Analytica/OxResearch Provides succinct analytical articles covering world and regional economic and political developments of major significance from 1986-present. Evaluates issues and events within a coherent political, social, and economic framework. Contains objective, multi-disciplinary articles compiled by an extensive international network of over 1,000 faculty members at Oxford and other leading universities around the world, as well as think-tanks and institutes of international standing. | |
| Oxford English Dictionary The accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium: the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past. It traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international English language sources. | |
| Oxford Reference Online Quick reference answers from more than 170 dictionaries and reference titles on subjects such as language, science, medicine, humanities, social science and business, plus the Oxford Dictionary of Quotations and titles from the Oxford Companion series. | |
| Philosopher's Index Provides indexing and abstracts from books and journals of philosophy and related fields. Covers the areas of ethics, aesthetics, social philosophy, political philosophy, epistemology, and metaphysic logic as well as material on the philosophy of law, religion, science, history, education, and language. | |
| Primary Sources in African American History (LexisNexis) LexisNexis African American History is a collection of documents pertaining to African American history and women's studies, including guides to microforms. Using either the keyword search, subject search or browse option, users are able to access primary sources such as pictures and images, government documents, manuscripts, speeches, autobiographies and more. | |
| Primary Sources in American Women's History (LexisNexis) Available through LexisNexis, Primary Sources in American Women's History provides first-hand accounts by influential women, the full texts of laws and court decisions that define or have defined women's opportunities and rights, and scholarly articles on events and issues that pertain to women's studies. | |
| Project MUSE Provides online access to the full-text of over 300 scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences, and mathematics covering the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies. Includes hypertext links for efficient navigation among article bibliographies, citations, endnotes, author biographies and illustrations Project MUSE is a powerful research tool, allowing users to perform keyword and Boolean searching; search full text across all journals in the database, selected journal titles, or in just a single title; search the tables of contents of articles and book reviews by author and title as well as by Library of Congress subject headings. | |
| ProQuest databases ProQuest is organized into databases of related newspapers, magazines, and academic journals that you can use to find articles. The information in each database varies, depending on its focus. There are three types of ProQuest databases: non-historical databases, historical databases, and standalone databases. Non-historical databases, such as Research Library contain general reference information. These databases are cross-searchable, meaning you can search across multiple non-historical databases at the same time. Historical databases, such as New York Times (Historic), contain historical information. You can search multiple historical databases, but you cannot search historical and non-historical databases together. | |
| ProQuest Religion Religious news and commentary, details on doctrines and philosophies, and reports on religious history and related archeology; includes both formal theological studies and commentary on topics of general interest from the perspectives of specific religions. Citations and abstracts for nearly 120 titles; full-text, full-image or Text+Graphics available for most. | |
| PsycINFO PsycINFO contains nearly 2.3 million citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations and technical reports, all in the field of psychology. Journal coverage, which spans from 1887 to present, includes international material selected from more than 2,100 periodicals in over 25 languages. More than 60,000 records are added each year. It also includes information about the psychological aspects of related disciplines such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business and law. | |
| RAND California RAND California provides information on California public policy and social science issues affecting the state, its counties and cities. It provides access to current economic, demographic, educational, and financial data for the State of California. | |
| RefWorks RefWorks is a Web-based bibliography and database manager that allows users to create their own personal database by importing references from text files or online databases. Users can use these references in writing their papers and automatically format the paper and the bibliography in seconds. As a web-based product, RefWorks is available to users across various platforms including Windows, Mac, and Unix. Pepperdine users also have access to Write-N-Cite, which is a utility which allows Windows, Mac, and Linux users to run an abbreviated version of RefWorks in their word processors and RefShare, which allows the sharing of RefWorks folders with others. | |
| Religion periodicals (ProQuest) Religious news and commentary, details on doctrines and philosophies, and reports on religious history and related archeology; includes both formal theological studies and commentary on topics of general interest from the perspectives of specific religions. Citations and abstracts for 109 titles; full-text, full-image or Text+Graphics available for most. | |
| Religious and Theological Abstracts Objective summaries of articles appearing in scholarly journals in the fields of religion and theology, including Christian, Jewish, and other world religions. Provides English language abstracts of articles in English, Hebrew, Afrikaans, and major European languages. | |
| Research Library Research Library provides access to popular and scholarly journals in the social sciences, humanities, business, health, education and general science. It includes citations and abstracts for over 3,820 journals from 1972 forward. Full-text and/or full-image is available for over 2,500 journals from 1972 forward. | |
| Robert Morris Associates Robert Morris Associates (RMA) Annual Statement Studies provides financial ratios for several industries. Industries are organized by NAICS codes and fairly narrow industries such as masonry contractors and jewelry stores are included. These ratios are the composite averages of several small and midsized businesses. You can download the reports into Excel. | |
| Sage Journals Online Provides online access to the full text of individual SAGE journals. SAGE Publications publishes over 460 journals in Business, Communication, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Medicine. | |
| ScienceDirect Provides indexing and abstracting for over 2,500 scientific, technical and medical journals as well as access to 503 full-text Elsevier journals, and titles subscribed to by Pepperdine University Libraries, through the SCELC consortium, plus 45 titles in the Psychology backfile. | |
| Scopus Scopus offers more coverage of scientific, technical, medical and social science literature (14,000 titles) than any other database, full text links directly from the results list, abstracts back to 1966, a full 10-year reference backfile, daily updates, innovative tools to help you refine your search to relevant results, and alerts for you to keep abreast of your research topic. | |
| Scottish Women Poets of the Romantic Period An electronic collection of over sixty volumes of lyric poetry by Scottish women, written between 1789 and 1832. The database includes the works of approximately 50 women poets, each with bio-bibliographical sketches or essays, including what is known about their lives, and a bibliography of their primary works and of criticism and reviews. Voices represent women from every social, economic, political, and religious stratum. | |
| Serials Directory The Serials Directory provides access to the most up-to-date and accurate bibliographic information as well as current pricing structures for popular serials. It contains over 212,000 U.S. and international titles, including newspapers; historical data for an additional 20,000 titles; data from over 108,235 publishers worldwide, including e-mail and Internet addresses; and Library of Congress and Dewey Decimal Classifications for every entry. | |
| Shakespeare Survey Shakespeare Survey is a yearbook of Shakespeare studies and production. Since 1948 Survey has published the best international scholarship in English and many of its essays have become classics of Shakespeare criticism. Each volume is devoted to a theme, or play, or group of plays; each also contains a section of reviews of that year's textual and critical studies, and of the year's major British performances. Shakespeare Survey Online makes all issues of the Survey, including over 90% of the original images, available online for the first time. | |
| Thesaurus Linguae Graecae (TLG) Collects and digitizes most literary texts written in Greek from Homer to the fall of Byzantium in AD 1453, currently providing access to 3,700 authors and 12,000 works, approximately 95 million words. Information about the authors and works included in the TLG Library is stored in a database, known as the Canon of Greek Authors and Works. To view the texts in Greek, a polytonic Greek font | |
| The Times Digital Archive (1785 - 1985) Search through the complete digital edition of The Times (London), using keyword searching and hit-term highlighting to retrieve full facsimile images of either a specific article or a complete page. The entire newspaper is captured, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching. | |
| Wiley InterScience Wiley InterScience provides access to the full-text of 213 journals plus access to the citations and abstracts of approximately 800 additional titles. Wiley InterScience also provides access to Steven's Handbook of Experimental Psychology. | |
| Women Writers On-Line Full-text database consisting of pre-Victorian women's writing in English. The database is a collection of primary source, rare works encoded in SGML providing search capabilities. The database includes Renaissance Women Online, which contains topic essays and contextual pieces as well. | |
| WorldCat OCLC's Online Union Catalog contains bibliographic records of all types of materials owned by libraries around the world. WorldCat covers materials dating back to the 11th century, includes holdings information from libraries in 45 countries and is updated daily. |



