Select a Database
Library Databases by Subject: International Relations
| Database/Description | Guide |
|---|---|
| Academic Search Elite An EBSCO database that provides full text coverage of over 2,050 journals, including nearly 1,500 peer-reviewed titles in the social sciences, humanities, general science, multi-cultural studies, education and more. Full-text coverage back to 1985. | |
| Alternative Press Index (AltPressIndex) With an international and interdisciplinary focus, Alternative Press Index journals document cultural, economic, political and social change, providing in-depth coverage in the humanities and social sciences. Updated quarterly, this database indexes nearly 300 alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines and includes selected abstracts from research journals. | |
| Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) is a comprehensive source for materials related to international affairs. It contains working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs related to theory, policy, diplomacy, politics and law in the international arena. | |
| ebrary Academic Complete ebrary and Pepperdine University Libraries have partnered to bring you online access to over 32,000 authoritative titles with concentrations in Business and Economics, Computers and Technology, Humanities, the Social Sciences, and more. | |
| EBSCOhost databases EBSCOhost is a powerful online reference system accessible via the Internet. It offers a variety of proprietary full-text databases and popular databases from leading information providers. The comprehensive databases range from general reference collections to specially designed, subject-specific databases for public, academic, medical, corporate and school libraries. | |
| Europa World Plus The online version of the Europa World Year Book and the nine-volume Regional Surveys of the World series covers political and economic information on more than 250 countries and territories. | |
| Gale Virtual Reference Library A database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. | |
| Google Scholar Search for relevant scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. | |
| HAPI Online The Hispanic American Periodical Index (HAPI) provides access to over 265,000 journal article citations about Central America, South America, the Caribbean, Mexico, Brazil, and Hispanics/Latinos in the United States from 1970 to the present. | |
| LexisNexis Academic LexisNexis Academic indexes and provides full-text coverage of approximately 5,600 newspapers, magazines, wire services, federal and state court opinions, federal and state statutes, federal regulations and SEC filings such as 10-K's and 10-Q's. It also provides access to company profiles, industry and market research information and trade journals. The Medline database is available through LexisNexis Academic. | |
| Los Angeles Times A ProQuest database that indexes and provides full-text access to the Los Angeles Times including extensive coverage of national, international and local news. Covers 1985 to current date. | |
| Los Angeles Times (Historic) Every issue from 1881-1985 includes the complete paper -cover-to-cover- with full-page and article images in downloadable PDF. | |
| New York Times (Historic) Includes not only news, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, and birth and marriage announcements, but also historical photos, stock photos, and advertisements. Every issue from 1851-2003 includes the complete paper -cover-to-cover- with full-page and article images in downloadable PDF. | |
| Newspaper Source Newspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for 25 national (U.S.) & international newspapers, including The Christian Science Monitor, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Washington Times, The Times (London), Toronto Star, etc. The database also contains selected full text for more than 260 regional (U.S.) newspapers, including The Boston Globe, Chicago Tribune, Detroit Free Press, The Miami Herald, Daily News (New York), San Jose Mercury News, etc. In addition, full text television & radio news transcripts are provided from CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, NPR, and others. | |
| Oxford Analytica/OxResearch Provides succinct analytical articles covering world and regional economic and political developments of major significance from 1986-present. Evaluates issues and events within a coherent political, social, and economic framework. Contains objective, multi-disciplinary articles compiled by an extensive international network of over 1,000 faculty members at Oxford and other leading universities around the world, as well as think-tanks and institutes of international standing. | |
| Political Risk Yearbook in Business Source Premier Political Risk Yearbook Country risk reports are now found in the Business Source Premier database. To search for a Country Risk report, click on the Publications tab on the green bar at the top of the search screen in Business Source Premier. Enter the name of the country as "match any words" for all reports in the database on this country or enter "Political Risk Yearbook: Country name" to see only the Political Risk Yearbook report for the country. | |
| ProQuest databases ProQuest is organized into databases of related newspapers, magazines, and academic journals that you can use to find articles. The information in each database varies, depending on its focus. There are three types of ProQuest databases: non-historical databases, historical databases, and standalone databases. Non-historical databases, such as Research Library contain general reference information. These databases are cross-searchable, meaning you can search across multiple non-historical databases at the same time. Historical databases, such as New York Times (Historic), contain historical information. You can search multiple historical databases, but you cannot search historical and non-historical databases together. | |
| RefWorks RefWorks is a Web-based bibliography and database manager that allows users to create their own personal database by importing references from text files or online databases. Users can use these references in writing their papers and automatically format the paper and the bibliography in seconds. As a web-based product, RefWorks is available to users across various platforms including Windows, Mac, and Unix. Pepperdine users also have access to Write-N-Cite, which is a utility which allows Windows, Mac, and Linux users to run an abbreviated version of RefWorks in their word processors and RefShare, which allows the sharing of RefWorks folders with others. | |
| Research Library Research Library provides access to popular and scholarly journals in the social sciences, humanities, business, health, education and general science. It includes citations and abstracts for over 3,820 journals from 1972 forward. Full-text and/or full-image is available for over 2,500 journals from 1972 forward. | |
| Scopus Scopus offers more coverage of scientific, technical, medical and social science literature (14,000 titles) than any other database, full text links directly from the results list, abstracts back to 1966, a full 10-year reference backfile, daily updates, innovative tools to help you refine your search to relevant results, and alerts for you to keep abreast of your research topic. | |
| Social Sciences Citation Index Provides current and retrospective bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references to more than 1,800 of the world's leading scholarly social sciences journals covering more than 50 disciplines plus individually selected, relevant items from approximately 3,300 of the world's leading science and technology journals. Updated weekly. Coverage: 1997 to present. | |
| The Times Digital Archive (1785 - 1985) Search through the complete digital edition of The Times (London), using keyword searching and hit-term highlighting to retrieve full facsimile images of either a specific article or a complete page. The entire newspaper is captured, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching. | |
| Web of Science: Social Sciences Citation Index Provides current and retrospective bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references to more than 1,800 of the world's leading scholarly social sciences journals covering more than 50 disciplines plus individually selected, relevant items from approximately 3,300 of the world's leading science and technology journals. Updated weekly. Coverage: 1997 to present. | |
| WorldCat OCLC's Online Union Catalog contains bibliographic records of all types of materials owned by libraries around the world. WorldCat covers materials dating back to the 11th century, includes holdings information from libraries in 45 countries and is updated daily. | |
| Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations (12th ed. 2007) Presents information on 200 countries and dependencies from around the world. Entries discuss a variety of topics in detail, from banking and securities to climate, from government data to demographic statistics. Also includes biographical essays on national leaders. |



