Pepperdine University

Information

Select a Database

Library Databases by Subject: Music

Database/DescriptionGuide
Academic Search Elite
An EBSCO database that provides full text coverage of over 2,050 journals, including nearly 1,500 peer-reviewed titles in the social sciences, humanities, general science, multi-cultural studies, education and more. Full-text coverage back to 1985.
Information about the Academic Search Elite database
Choice Reviews Online
The online version of the print magazine Choice, this database contains reviews of significant current books and electronic resources of interest to those in higher education. The database is updated monthly, generally at mid-month, with reviews that will be printed in the next monthly issue. Reviews published since 1988 are included.
Information about the Choice Reviews Online database
Classical Music Library
Classical Music Library is a streaming music service consisting of over 50,000 classical music recordings for listening, browsing and searching, benchmarked against the Music Library Association listing of essential sound recordings. Includes program notes, composer biographies, and images cross-referenced to the recordings. Classical Music Library includes recordings of music written from the earliest times (e.g., Gregorian Chant) to the present, including many contemporary composers.
Information about the Classical Music Library database
Classical Scores Library
Classical Scores Library will contain 400,000 pages of the most important classical scores and manuscripts, allowing for the study and analysis of more than 8,000 scores. This release includes 13,956 scores and 292,823 pages. Includes links to recordings in Classical Music Library.
 
Dissertations & Theses
With more than 2 million entries, Proquest Dissertations & Theses (PQD&T) is the single, central, authoritative resource for information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses. Dissertations published from 1980 forward include 350-word abstracts written by the author. Master's theses published from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts.
Information about the Dissertations & Theses database
EBSCOhost databases
EBSCOhost is a powerful online reference system accessible via the Internet. It offers a variety of proprietary full-text databases and popular databases from leading information providers. The comprehensive databases range from general reference collections to specially designed, subject-specific databases for public, academic, medical, corporate and school libraries.
Information about the EBSCOhost databases database
ERIC
ERIC, the Educational Resource Information Center, provides access to more than 1.2 million bibliographic records of journal articles and other education-related materials plus links to more than 100,000 full-text documents from ERIC. ERIC is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education, Institute of Education Sciences (IES).
Information about the ERIC database
Google Scholar
Search for relevant scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.
Information about the Google Scholar database
Grove Music Online
Includes the full text of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, second edition, The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz with links to thousands of images, digital sound and related sites.
Information about the Grove Music Online database
IMSLP: International Music Score Library Project
The Petrucci Music Library is a virtual library containing all public domain musical scores, as well as scores from composers who are willing to share their music with the world without charge.
Information about the IMSLP: International Music Score Library Project database
International Index of Music Periodicals
The International Index of Music Periodicals (IIMP) indexes over 430 international music periodicals from over 20 countries with around 125 full-text titles. IIMP covers nearly all aspects of the world of music, from the most scholarly studies to the latest crazes.
Information about the International Index of Music Periodicals database
IPA Source
Library of International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) transcriptions and literal translations of opera arias and art song texts, containing over 3700 texts including 500 opera-aria texts.
 
JSTOR
Includes an extensive archive of journals in 30 subject disciplines in the Arts and Sciences, including classical studies, ecology, economics, history, language and literature, mathematics, music, the history and study of art and architecture, cultural studies, film, folklore, performing arts, philosophy, political science, sociology, and religion. Records are presented in high-resolution page images in combination with full-text searching.
Information about the JSTOR database
Los Angeles Times (Historic)
Every issue from 1881-1985 includes the complete paper -cover-to-cover- with full-page and article images in downloadable PDF.
Information about the Los Angeles Times (Historic) database
Mozart - Digital Edition
Operated by the Internationale Stiftung Mozarteum in cooperation with the Packard Humanities Institute, the Digital Mozart Edition offers the musical text and the critical commentary of the entire Neue Mozart-Ausgabe.
 
Naxos Music Library
Classical music listening service with over 165,000 tracks of music from the Naxos and other independent music labels; includes background information such as complete liner notes.
 
Naxos Music Library Jazz
Comprehensive collection of jazz on the Naxos and Fantasy Jazz labels, features close to 20,000 tracks of jazz from over 1900 albums with over 500 jazz artists represented.
 
Naxos Music Library Sheet Music
The Naxos Music Library offers members over 45,000 sheet music titles, powered by the largest online digital sheet music store, FreeHandMusic.com. The library service delivers digital sheet music in all classical genres, spanning music from Medieval to the 21st century and composers from Bach to Arvo Part. You can download the music easily and print using a convenient shopping cart systems [no charge to Pepperdine patrons]; you will need to download the FreeHand Solero viewer.
 
netLibrary
A collection of recent books in electronic format; some older books in the public domain are also available. Note for Mac users: to view netLibrary books properly, you will need to install a browser plug-in found at http://www.schubert-it.com/pluginpdf/.
Information about the netLibrary database
New York Times (Historic)
Includes not only news, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, and birth and marriage announcements, but also historical photos, stock photos, and advertisements. Every issue from 1851-2003 includes the complete paper -cover-to-cover- with full-page and article images in downloadable PDF.
Information about the New York Times (Historic) database
Oxford African American Studies Center
Contains over 7,500 articles by top scholars and hundreds of primary source documents, images, maps, and charts and tables.
Information about the Oxford African American Studies Center database
Project MUSE
Provides online access to the full-text of over 300 scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences, and mathematics covering the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies. Includes hypertext links for efficient navigation among article bibliographies, citations, endnotes, author biographies and illustrations Project MUSE is a powerful research tool, allowing users to perform keyword and Boolean searching; search full text across all journals in the database, selected journal titles, or in just a single title; search the tables of contents of articles and book reviews by author and title as well as by Library of Congress subject headings.
Information about the Project MUSE database
ProQuest databases
ProQuest is organized into databases of related newspapers, magazines, and academic journals that you can use to find articles. The information in each database varies, depending on its focus. There are three types of ProQuest databases: non-historical databases, historical databases, and standalone databases. Non-historical databases, such as Research Library contain general reference information. These databases are cross-searchable, meaning you can search across multiple non-historical databases at the same time. Historical databases, such as New York Times (Historic), contain historical information. You can search multiple historical databases, but you cannot search historical and non-historical databases together.
Information about the ProQuest databases database
RefWorks
RefWorks is a Web-based bibliography and database manager that allows users to create their own personal database by importing references from text files or online databases. Users can use these references in writing their papers and automatically format the paper and the bibliography in seconds. As a web-based product, RefWorks is available to users across various platforms including Windows, Mac, and Unix. Pepperdine users also have access to Write-N-Cite, which is a utility which allows Windows, Mac, and Linux users to run an abbreviated version of RefWorks in their word processors and RefShare, which allows the sharing of RefWorks folders with others.
Information about the RefWorks database
WorldCat
OCLC's Online Union Catalog contains bibliographic records of all types of materials owned by libraries around the world. WorldCat covers materials dating back to the 11th century, includes holdings information from libraries in 45 countries and is updated daily.
Information about the WorldCat database

 

Terms of Use | Privacy Policy