Pepperdine University

Information

Select a Database

Library Databases by Subject: Philosophy

Database/DescriptionGuide
Academic Search Elite
An EBSCO database that provides full text coverage of over 2,050 journals, including nearly 1,500 peer-reviewed titles in the social sciences, humanities, general science, multi-cultural studies, education and more. Full-text coverage back to 1985.
Information about the Academic Search Elite database
American Decades (Gale)
Cross-disciplinary source for those who need a single, consistent reference to document and analyze periods of contemporary American social history.
Information about the American Decades (Gale) database
Biography Resource Center
Provides biographical information on more than 340,000 people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas. Besides biographical narratives, the database provides full-text articles from more than 300 periodicals and includes more than 26,000 images.
Information about the Biography Resource Center database
Cambridge Collections Online
Cambridge Companions Online is a fully searchable, full text collection of over 230 titles from the renowned Cambridge Companions series covering literature, classics, philosophy, religion and cultural studies. The database provides search, browse and bookmark functionality. Over 2,300 essays are already included in the collection, with more set to be added as new volumes are published.
Information about the Cambridge Collections Online database
Choice Reviews Online
The online version of the print magazine Choice, this database contains reviews of significant current books and electronic resources of interest to those in higher education. The database is updated monthly, generally at mid-month, with reviews that will be printed in the next monthly issue. Reviews published since 1988 are included.
Information about the Choice Reviews Online database
Dissertations & Theses
With more than 2 million entries, Proquest Dissertations & Theses (PQD&T) is the single, central, authoritative resource for information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses. Dissertations published from 1980 forward include 350-word abstracts written by the author. Master's theses published from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts.
Information about the Dissertations & Theses database
ebrary Academic Complete
ebrary and Pepperdine University Libraries have partnered to bring you online access to over 32,000 authoritative titles with concentrations in Business and Economics, Computers and Technology, Humanities, the Social Sciences, and more.
Information about the ebrary Academic Complete database
EBSCOhost databases
EBSCOhost is a powerful online reference system accessible via the Internet. It offers a variety of proprietary full-text databases and popular databases from leading information providers. The comprehensive databases range from general reference collections to specially designed, subject-specific databases for public, academic, medical, corporate and school libraries.
Information about the EBSCOhost databases database
Emerald Management Xtra 140
Emerald Mangement Xtra 140 includes over 75,000 searchable articles from over 140 Emerald journals. It contains over 25,000 management articles from its archives back to 1989. Subjects covered include management, HRM, marketing, librarianship, mechanical engineering, electronic and electrical engineering.
 
Google Scholar
Search for relevant scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.
Information about the Google Scholar database
Iter
Iter's bibliography covers all literature pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700). Citations for journal articles, reviews, review articles, bibliographies, catalogues, abstracts and discographies are included. Also included are citations for monographs, and material published in monographs and collections of essays. To date, 1,555 scholarly journal titles, published since 1784, as well as elected essays from 4,401 scholarly collections of essays published since 1996 have been indexed.
 
JSTOR
Includes an extensive archive of journals in 30 subject disciplines in the Arts and Sciences, including classical studies, ecology, economics, history, language and literature, mathematics, music, the history and study of art and architecture, cultural studies, film, folklore, performing arts, philosophy, political science, sociology, and religion. Records are presented in high-resolution page images in combination with full-text searching.
Information about the JSTOR database
MAS Ultra - School Edition
This comprehensive database, designed specifically for high school libraries, contains full text for nearly 500 popular, high school magazines. All full text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Full text is also available for 84,774 biographies and 100,554 primary source documents. Additionally, MAS Ultra - School Edition contains more than 350 reference books (including the Columbia Encyclopedia, the CIA World Fact Book and World Almanac & Book of Facts), an Image Collection of 235,186 photos, maps & flags, color PDFs and expanded full text backfiles (back to 1975) for key magazines.
Information about the MAS Ultra - School Edition database
netLibrary
A collection of recent books in electronic format; some older books in the public domain are also available. Note for Mac users: to view netLibrary books properly, you will need to install a browser plug-in found at http://www.schubert-it.com/pluginpdf/.
Information about the netLibrary database
Philosopher's Index
Provides indexing and abstracts from books and journals of philosophy and related fields. Covers the areas of ethics, aesthetics, social philosophy, political philosophy, epistemology, and metaphysic logic as well as material on the philosophy of law, religion, science, history, education, and language.
 
Project MUSE
Provides online access to the full-text of over 300 scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences, and mathematics covering the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies. Includes hypertext links for efficient navigation among article bibliographies, citations, endnotes, author biographies and illustrations Project MUSE is a powerful research tool, allowing users to perform keyword and Boolean searching; search full text across all journals in the database, selected journal titles, or in just a single title; search the tables of contents of articles and book reviews by author and title as well as by Library of Congress subject headings.
Information about the Project MUSE database
ProQuest databases
ProQuest is organized into databases of related newspapers, magazines, and academic journals that you can use to find articles. The information in each database varies, depending on its focus. There are three types of ProQuest databases: non-historical databases, historical databases, and standalone databases. Non-historical databases, such as Research Library contain general reference information. These databases are cross-searchable, meaning you can search across multiple non-historical databases at the same time. Historical databases, such as New York Times (Historic), contain historical information. You can search multiple historical databases, but you cannot search historical and non-historical databases together.
Information about the ProQuest databases database
ProQuest Religion
Religious news and commentary, details on doctrines and philosophies, and reports on religious history and related archeology; includes both formal theological studies and commentary on topics of general interest from the perspectives of specific religions. Citations and abstracts for nearly 120 titles; full-text, full-image or Text+Graphics available for most.
Information about the ProQuest Religion database
RefWorks
RefWorks is a Web-based bibliography and database manager that allows users to create their own personal database by importing references from text files or online databases. Users can use these references in writing their papers and automatically format the paper and the bibliography in seconds. As a web-based product, RefWorks is available to users across various platforms including Windows, Mac, and Unix. Pepperdine users also have access to Write-N-Cite, which is a utility which allows Windows, Mac, and Linux users to run an abbreviated version of RefWorks in their word processors and RefShare, which allows the sharing of RefWorks folders with others.
Information about the RefWorks database
Religion periodicals (ProQuest)
Religious news and commentary, details on doctrines and philosophies, and reports on religious history and related archeology; includes both formal theological studies and commentary on topics of general interest from the perspectives of specific religions. Citations and abstracts for 109 titles; full-text, full-image or Text+Graphics available for most.
Information about the Religion periodicals (ProQuest) database
Research Library
Research Library provides access to popular and scholarly journals in the social sciences, humanities, business, health, education and general science. It includes citations and abstracts for over 3,820 journals from 1972 forward. Full-text and/or full-image is available for over 2,500 journals from 1972 forward.
Information about the Research Library database
Scopus
Scopus offers more coverage of scientific, technical, medical and social science literature (14,000 titles) than any other database, full text links directly from the results list, abstracts back to 1966, a full 10-year reference backfile, daily updates, innovative tools to help you refine your search to relevant results, and alerts for you to keep abreast of your research topic.
Information about the Scopus database
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Stanford University's Encyclopedia of Philosophy is a dynamic reference work written, refereed, and maintained by over 950 professional philosophers.
Information about the Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy database
Thesaurus Linguae Graecae (TLG)
Collects and digitizes most literary texts written in Greek from Homer to the fall of Byzantium in AD 1453, currently providing access to 3,700 authors and 12,000 works, approximately 95 million words. Information about the authors and works included in the TLG Library is stored in a database, known as the Canon of Greek Authors and Works. To view the texts in Greek, a polytonic Greek font must be installed on your computer.
 
WorldCat
OCLC's Online Union Catalog contains bibliographic records of all types of materials owned by libraries around the world. WorldCat covers materials dating back to the 11th century, includes holdings information from libraries in 45 countries and is updated daily.
Information about the WorldCat database

 

Terms of Use | Privacy Policy