Pepperdine University

Information

Select a Database

Library Databases by Subject: Political Science

Database/DescriptionGuide
Academic Search Elite
An EBSCO database that provides full text coverage of over 2,050 journals, including nearly 1,500 peer-reviewed titles in the social sciences, humanities, general science, multi-cultural studies, education and more. Full-text coverage back to 1985.
Information about the Academic Search Elite database
Alternative Press Index (AltPressIndex)
With an international and interdisciplinary focus, Alternative Press Index journals document cultural, economic, political and social change, providing in-depth coverage in the humanities and social sciences. Updated quarterly, this database indexes nearly 300 alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines and includes selected abstracts from research journals.
Information about the Alternative Press Index (AltPressIndex) database
America's Historical Newspapers
Series I offers more than 700 historical American newspapers from 23 states and the District of Columbia printed between 1690 and 1876 and is based on Clarence S. Brigham's "History and Bibliography of American Newspapers, 1690-1820" and other authoritative bibliographies.
Information about the America's Historical Newspapers database
American Decades (Gale)
Cross-disciplinary source for those who need a single, consistent reference to document and analyze periods of contemporary American social history.
Information about the American Decades (Gale) database
Black Thought and Culture
Black Thought and Culture provides approximately 100,000 pages of monographs, essays, articles, speeches, and interviews written by leaders within the black community from the earliest times to the present. In addition to well-known works, when completed, the collection will feature unique, fugitive and never-before-published materials, including the first-ever complete full run of the Black Panther newspaper. The collection is intended for research in black studies, political science, American history, music, literature, and art. This ninth release of Black Thought and Culture includes approximately 1297 sources and 1100 authors (March 2007).
Information about the Black Thought and Culture database
Choice Reviews Online
The online version of the print magazine Choice, this database contains reviews of significant current books and electronic resources of interest to those in higher education. The database is updated monthly, generally at mid-month, with reviews that will be printed in the next monthly issue. Reviews published since 1988 are included.
Information about the Choice Reviews Online database
Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO)
Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) is a comprehensive source for materials related to international affairs. It contains working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs related to theory, policy, diplomacy, politics and law in the international arena.
Information about the Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) database
Communication Studies: A Sage Full-Text Collection
Communication Studies: A Sage Full-Text Collection provides electronic access to the full text of over 5,000 articles in 19 Sage Publications journals, including up to 20 years of back files. Subjects covered include journalism, mass communication, interpersonal communication, intercultural communication, cultural studies, discourse studies, media studies, political communication, business communication, rhetoric, and literary studies.
Information about the Communication Studies: A Sage Full-Text Collection database
CQ Researcher
This weekly publication covers the most current and controversial issues of the day with complete summaries, insight into all sides of the issues, bibliographies and more.
Information about the CQ Researcher database
CQ Weekly
Access to the full text of all articles published since 1983. Users may browse through articles in the current issue or search for past articles by words, dates, subjects or other criteria. The database also provides users with access to some CQ Weekly articles prior to when they are available in print.
Information about the CQ Weekly database
Digital National Security Archive
The DNSA provides a collection of primary documents central to US foreign and military policy since 1945. Nearly 43,000 declassified documents are included in a group of 22 collections, each focused on a single topic. Each collection contains a range of policy documents including presidential directives, memos, diplomatic dispatches, meeting notes, independent reports, briefing papers, White House communications, email and confidential letters. Most of the documents in the DNSA collection were obtained through the use of the US Freedom of Information Act.
Information about the Digital National Security Archive database
Dissertations & Theses
With more than 2 million entries, Proquest Dissertations & Theses (PQD&T) is the single, central, authoritative resource for information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses. Dissertations published from 1980 forward include 350-word abstracts written by the author. Master's theses published from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts.
Information about the Dissertations & Theses database
Early American Newspapers, Series I
Series I offers more than 700 historical American newspapers from 23 states and the District of Columbia printed between 1690 and 1876 and is based on Clarence S. Brigham's "History and Bibliography of American Newspapers, 1690-1820" and other authoritative bibliographies.
Information about the Early American Newspapers, Series I database
ebrary Academic Complete
ebrary and Pepperdine University Libraries have partnered to bring you online access to over 32,000 authoritative titles with concentrations in Business and Economics, Computers and Technology, Humanities, the Social Sciences, and more.
Information about the ebrary Academic Complete database
EBSCOhost databases
EBSCOhost is a powerful online reference system accessible via the Internet. It offers a variety of proprietary full-text databases and popular databases from leading information providers. The comprehensive databases range from general reference collections to specially designed, subject-specific databases for public, academic, medical, corporate and school libraries.
Information about the EBSCOhost databases database
Encyclopedia of American Foreign Policy (2d ed. 2002)
Essays by subject experts treat concepts and doctrines, policymaking, commerce and science, human rights and arms control, with specific articles on topics ranging from anti-imperialism to environmental diplomacy, from refugee policies to terrorism and countermeasures. Also includes a chronology.
Information about the Encyclopedia of American Foreign Policy (2d ed. 2002) database
The Encyclopedia of American Studies
The Encyclopedia of American Studies brings together a wide range of disciplines related to the history and cultures of the United States, from pre-colonial days to the present. It features broad, synthetic articles covering areas such as history, literature, art, photography, film, architecture, urban studies, ethnicity, race, gender, economics, politics, wars, consumer culture, and global America; includes over 660 online, searchable articles and bibliographies.
 
Essay and General Literature Index (Wilson)
A bibliographic database that cites essays and articles contained in collections of essays and miscellaneous works focusing on the humanities and social sciences, with subject coverage ranging from economics, political science, and history to criticism of literary works, drama, and film.
Information about the Essay and General Literature Index (Wilson) database
Europa World Plus
The online version of the Europa World Year Book and the nine-volume Regional Surveys of the World series covers political and economic information on more than 250 countries and territories.
Information about the Europa World Plus database
Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America (2d ed. 2000)
Contains 8,000 to 12,000 word essays on specific culture groups in the United States, emphasizing religions, holidays, customs, and languages in addition to providing information on historical background and settlement patterns. Also covers ethnoreligious groups such as Jews, Chaldeans, and Amish. Each essay lists organizations and research centers; name, address, and contact information for periodicals, radio, and television stations; and a further readings section.
Information about the Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America (2d ed. 2000) database
Gale Virtual Reference Library
A database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
Information about the Gale Virtual Reference Library database
Google Scholar
Search for relevant scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.
Information about the Google Scholar database
GreenFile
GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records.
Information about the GreenFile database
HAPI Online
The Hispanic American Periodical Index (HAPI) provides access to over 265,000 journal article citations about Central America, South America, the Caribbean, Mexico, Brazil, and Hispanics/Latinos in the United States from 1970 to the present.
Information about the HAPI Online database
ICPSR Direct
ICPSR (Interuniversity Consortium for Political and Social Research) holds the world's largest collection of computer-readable social science data. These data can be used for both research and instructional activities. First time users will be asked to create an ICPSR MyData account.
 
JSTOR
Includes an extensive archive of journals in 30 subject disciplines in the Arts and Sciences, including classical studies, ecology, economics, history, language and literature, mathematics, music, the history and study of art and architecture, cultural studies, film, folklore, performing arts, philosophy, political science, sociology, and religion. Records are presented in high-resolution page images in combination with full-text searching.
Information about the JSTOR database
LexisNexis Academic
LexisNexis Academic indexes and provides full-text coverage of approximately 5,600 newspapers, magazines, wire services, federal and state court opinions, federal and state statutes, federal regulations and SEC filings such as 10-K's and 10-Q's. It also provides access to company profiles, industry and market research information and trade journals. The Medline database is available through LexisNexis Academic.
Information about the LexisNexis Academic database
LexisNexis Congressional
Access to legislative and regulatory information from the United States government, including hearing transcripts, committee reports, bills, the Congressional Record, the Federal Register, the Code of Federal Regulations, the U.S. Code, and public law.
Information about the LexisNexis Congressional database
Los Angeles Times (Historic)
Every issue from 1881-1985 includes the complete paper -cover-to-cover- with full-page and article images in downloadable PDF.
Information about the Los Angeles Times (Historic) database
MAS Ultra - School Edition
This comprehensive database, designed specifically for high school libraries, contains full text for nearly 500 popular, high school magazines. All full text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Full text is also available for 84,774 biographies and 100,554 primary source documents. Additionally, MAS Ultra - School Edition contains more than 350 reference books (including the Columbia Encyclopedia, the CIA World Fact Book and World Almanac & Book of Facts), an Image Collection of 235,186 photos, maps & flags, color PDFs and expanded full text backfiles (back to 1975) for key magazines.
Information about the MAS Ultra - School Edition database
netLibrary
A collection of recent books in electronic format; some older books in the public domain are also available. Note for Mac users: to view netLibrary books properly, you will need to install a browser plug-in found at http://www.schubert-it.com/pluginpdf/.
Information about the netLibrary database
New York Times (Historic)
Includes not only news, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, and birth and marriage announcements, but also historical photos, stock photos, and advertisements. Every issue from 1851-2003 includes the complete paper -cover-to-cover- with full-page and article images in downloadable PDF.
Information about the New York Times (Historic) database
Oxford African American Studies Center
Contains over 7,500 articles by top scholars and hundreds of primary source documents, images, maps, and charts and tables.
Information about the Oxford African American Studies Center database
Oxford Analytica/OxResearch
Provides succinct analytical articles covering world and regional economic and political developments of major significance from 1986-present. Evaluates issues and events within a coherent political, social, and economic framework. Contains objective, multi-disciplinary articles compiled by an extensive international network of over 1,000 faculty members at Oxford and other leading universities around the world, as well as think-tanks and institutes of international standing.
Information about the Oxford Analytica/OxResearch database
Philosopher's Index
Provides indexing and abstracts from books and journals of philosophy and related fields. Covers the areas of ethics, aesthetics, social philosophy, political philosophy, epistemology, and metaphysic logic as well as material on the philosophy of law, religion, science, history, education, and language.
 
Political Risk Yearbook in Business Source Premier
Political Risk Yearbook Country risk reports are now found in the Business Source Premier database. To search for a Country Risk report, click on the Publications tab on the green bar at the top of the search screen in Business Source Premier. Enter the name of the country as "match any words" for all reports in the database on this country or enter "Political Risk Yearbook: Country name" to see only the Political Risk Yearbook report for the country.
Information about the Political Risk Yearbook in Business Source Premier database
Project MUSE
Provides online access to the full-text of over 300 scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences, and mathematics covering the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies. Includes hypertext links for efficient navigation among article bibliographies, citations, endnotes, author biographies and illustrations Project MUSE is a powerful research tool, allowing users to perform keyword and Boolean searching; search full text across all journals in the database, selected journal titles, or in just a single title; search the tables of contents of articles and book reviews by author and title as well as by Library of Congress subject headings.
Information about the Project MUSE database
ProQuest databases
ProQuest is organized into databases of related newspapers, magazines, and academic journals that you can use to find articles. The information in each database varies, depending on its focus. There are three types of ProQuest databases: non-historical databases, historical databases, and standalone databases. Non-historical databases, such as Research Library contain general reference information. These databases are cross-searchable, meaning you can search across multiple non-historical databases at the same time. Historical databases, such as New York Times (Historic), contain historical information. You can search multiple historical databases, but you cannot search historical and non-historical databases together.
Information about the ProQuest databases database
RefWorks
RefWorks is a Web-based bibliography and database manager that allows users to create their own personal database by importing references from text files or online databases. Users can use these references in writing their papers and automatically format the paper and the bibliography in seconds. As a web-based product, RefWorks is available to users across various platforms including Windows, Mac, and Unix. Pepperdine users also have access to Write-N-Cite, which is a utility which allows Windows, Mac, and Linux users to run an abbreviated version of RefWorks in their word processors and RefShare, which allows the sharing of RefWorks folders with others.
Information about the RefWorks database
Research Library
Research Library provides access to popular and scholarly journals in the social sciences, humanities, business, health, education and general science. It includes citations and abstracts for over 3,820 journals from 1972 forward. Full-text and/or full-image is available for over 2,500 journals from 1972 forward.
Information about the Research Library database
Sage Journals Online
Provides online access to the full text of individual SAGE journals. SAGE Publications publishes over 460 journals in Business, Communication, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Medicine.
Information about the Sage Journals Online database
Scopus
Scopus offers more coverage of scientific, technical, medical and social science literature (14,000 titles) than any other database, full text links directly from the results list, abstracts back to 1966, a full 10-year reference backfile, daily updates, innovative tools to help you refine your search to relevant results, and alerts for you to keep abreast of your research topic.
Information about the Scopus database
Social Sciences Citation Index
Provides current and retrospective bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references to more than 1,800 of the world's leading scholarly social sciences journals covering more than 50 disciplines plus individually selected, relevant items from approximately 3,300 of the world's leading science and technology journals. Updated weekly. Coverage: 1997 to present.
Information about the Social Sciences Citation Index database
STAT-USA/Internet
STAT-USA, an agency in the Economics and Statistics Administration, U.S. Department of Commerce, provides complete online information on the National Trade Data Bank, the Economic Bulletin Board, Global Business Procurement Opportunities, and the Bureau of Economic Analysis Economic Information.
Information about the STAT-USA/Internet database
Statistical Abstract of the United States
The Statistical Abstract of the United States, published since 1878, is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Sources of data include the Census Bureau, Bureau of Labor Statistics, Bureau of Economic Analysis, and many other Federal agencies and private organizations
 
The Times Digital Archive (1785 - 1985)
Search through the complete digital edition of The Times (London), using keyword searching and hit-term highlighting to retrieve full facsimile images of either a specific article or a complete page. The entire newspaper is captured, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching.
 
Web of Science: Social Sciences Citation Index
Provides current and retrospective bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references to more than 1,800 of the world's leading scholarly social sciences journals covering more than 50 disciplines plus individually selected, relevant items from approximately 3,300 of the world's leading science and technology journals. Updated weekly. Coverage: 1997 to present.
Information about the Web of Science: Social Sciences Citation Index database
WorldCat
OCLC's Online Union Catalog contains bibliographic records of all types of materials owned by libraries around the world. WorldCat covers materials dating back to the 11th century, includes holdings information from libraries in 45 countries and is updated daily.
Information about the WorldCat database
Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations (12th ed. 2007)
Presents information on 200 countries and dependencies from around the world. Entries discuss a variety of topics in detail, from banking and securities to climate, from government data to demographic statistics. Also includes biographical essays on national leaders.
Information about the Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations (12th ed. 2007) database

 

Terms of Use | Privacy Policy