Pepperdine University

Information

Select a Database

Library Databases by Subject: Psychology

Database/DescriptionGuide
Academic Search Elite
An EBSCO database that provides full text coverage of over 2,050 journals, including nearly 1,500 peer-reviewed titles in the social sciences, humanities, general science, multi-cultural studies, education and more. Full-text coverage back to 1985.
Information about the Academic Search Elite database
American Decades (Gale)
Cross-disciplinary source for those who need a single, consistent reference to document and analyze periods of contemporary American social history.
Information about the American Decades (Gale) database
Cabell's Directory of Publishing Opportunities
Cabell's Directories help the scholar locate journals that might publish his/her article by providing information about journal submission guidelines, acceptance rates, review process and other pertinent information.
 
Child Development & Adolescent Studies
Produced by NISC, Child Development & Adolescent Studies includes references to the current and historical literature related to growth and development of children through the age of 21. Book reviews and abstracts from hundreds of journals and a bibliography of thousands of technical reports, books, book chapters, theses and dissertations covering biomedical and social sciences worldwide are indexed. More than 201,860 records are included with over 10,000 new records added each year.
Information about the Child Development & Adolescent Studies database
Child welfare information gateway
Provides access to print and electronic publications, websites, and online databases covering a wide range of topics from prevention to permanency, including child welfare, child abuse and neglect, adoption, search and reunion, and much more. A service of the Children's Bureau, Administration for Children and Families, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.
Information about the Child welfare information gateway database
Choice Reviews Online
The online version of the print magazine Choice, this database contains reviews of significant current books and electronic resources of interest to those in higher education. The database is updated monthly, generally at mid-month, with reviews that will be printed in the next monthly issue. Reviews published since 1988 are included.
Information about the Choice Reviews Online database
Communication Abstracts
Available through the CIOS database, Communication Abstracts contains citations and abstracts of journal articles published in the primary professional literature of the communications field.
Information about the Communication Abstracts database
Communication Studies: A Sage Full-Text Collection
Communication Studies: A Sage Full-Text Collection provides electronic access to the full text of over 5,000 articles in 19 Sage Publications journals, including up to 20 years of back files. Subjects covered include journalism, mass communication, interpersonal communication, intercultural communication, cultural studies, discourse studies, media studies, political communication, business communication, rhetoric, and literary studies.
Information about the Communication Studies: A Sage Full-Text Collection database
Dissertations & Theses
With more than 2 million entries, Proquest Dissertations & Theses (PQD&T) is the single, central, authoritative resource for information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses. Dissertations published from 1980 forward include 350-word abstracts written by the author. Master's theses published from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts.
Information about the Dissertations & Theses database
ebrary Academic Complete
ebrary and Pepperdine University Libraries have partnered to bring you online access to over 32,000 authoritative titles with concentrations in Business and Economics, Computers and Technology, Humanities, the Social Sciences, and more.
Information about the ebrary Academic Complete database
EBSCOhost databases
EBSCOhost is a powerful online reference system accessible via the Internet. It offers a variety of proprietary full-text databases and popular databases from leading information providers. The comprehensive databases range from general reference collections to specially designed, subject-specific databases for public, academic, medical, corporate and school libraries.
Information about the EBSCOhost databases database
Education Full Text (Wilson)
High quality indexing of nearly 750 periodicals as far back as 1983, over 450 of which are peer-reviewed; includes abstracting coverage from January 1994 and full text of articles from over 350 journals as far back as 1996. Topics include a wide range of contemporary education issues, including government funding, instructional media, multicultural education, religious education, student counseling, competency-based education, and information technology.
Information about the Education Full Text (Wilson) database
Emerald Management Xtra 140
Emerald Mangement Xtra 140 includes over 75,000 searchable articles from over 140 Emerald journals. It contains over 25,000 management articles from its archives back to 1989. Subjects covered include management, HRM, marketing, librarianship, mechanical engineering, electronic and electrical engineering.
 
ERIC
ERIC, the Educational Resource Information Center, provides access to more than 1.2 million bibliographic records of journal articles and other education-related materials plus links to more than 100,000 full-text documents from ERIC. ERIC is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education, Institute of Education Sciences (IES).
Information about the ERIC database
Factiva
Factiva provides access to the Dow Jones and Reuters news wires, The Wall Street Journal and over 8,000 other sources with the ability to cross search Web sites, publications, newswires, company reports and pictures in a single search.
Information about the Factiva database
Family and Society Studies Worldwide
Provides indexing and abstracting of research, policy, and practice literature in the fields of family science, human ecology, human development, and social welfare. Journals, books, conference papers, government reports, and popular literature are indexed.
Information about the Family and Society Studies Worldwide database
General Science
Search 555 periodicals on science subjects such as agriculture, biology, chemistry, computers, engineering, physics, and more
Information about the General Science database
Google Scholar
Search for relevant scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.
Information about the Google Scholar database
Health Source : Nursing/Academic Edition
Provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals, including more than 450 peer-reviewed journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Also featured are abstracts and indexing for nearly 850 journals. The majority of full text titles are available in native (searchable) PDF, or scanned-in-color. Full text information in this database dates as far back as 1975.
Information about the Health Source : Nursing/Academic Edition database
Health Source: Consumer Edition
This resource provides access to more than 130 full text, consumer health magazines.This database also includes searchable full text for more than 1,000 health-related pamphlets and 130 health reference books, including books published by the People's Medical Society. Additionally, Health Source: Consumer Edition contains more than 4,500 Clinical Reference Systems reports (in English and Spanish) and the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which provides access to 1,300 drug monograph entries and Merriam-Webster's Medical Desk Dictionary. Health Source: Consumer Edition covers topics such as AIDS, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, aging, fitness, nutrition & dietetics, children's health, women's health, etc. Many full-text titles are available in native (searchable) PDF, or scanned-in-color. Full-text information in this database dates as far back as 1985.
Information about the Health Source: Consumer Edition database
LexisNexis Academic
LexisNexis Academic indexes and provides full-text coverage of approximately 5,600 newspapers, magazines, wire services, federal and state court opinions, federal and state statutes, federal regulations and SEC filings such as 10-K's and 10-Q's. It also provides access to company profiles, industry and market research information and trade journals. The Medline database is available through LexisNexis Academic.
Information about the LexisNexis Academic database
Los Angeles Times (Historic)
Every issue from 1881-1985 includes the complete paper -cover-to-cover- with full-page and article images in downloadable PDF.
Information about the Los Angeles Times (Historic) database
Medline
MEDLINE covers the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry and the preclinical sciences and includes bibliographic citations and author abstracts from more than 4,600 biomedical journals published in the United States and 70 other countries. The file contains over 14 million citations dating back to the mid-1950's, made available through PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine (NLM) that provides access to bibliographic information to MEDLINE and more. Coverage is worldwide, but most records are from English-language sources or have English abstracts. More than 4,600 international clinical and research journals are indexed and abstracted. MEDLINE is also available through LexisNexis Academic with coverage from 1966 forward.
Information about the Medline database
Mental Measurements Yearbook
Contains full-text information about and reviews of all English-language standardized tests covering educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, psychology, and related areas as included in the printed Mental Measurements Yearbooks.
 
netLibrary
A collection of recent books in electronic format; some older books in the public domain are also available. Note for Mac users: to view netLibrary books properly, you will need to install a browser plug-in found at http://www.schubert-it.com/pluginpdf/.
Information about the netLibrary database
New York Times (Historic)
Includes not only news, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, and birth and marriage announcements, but also historical photos, stock photos, and advertisements. Every issue from 1851-2003 includes the complete paper -cover-to-cover- with full-page and article images in downloadable PDF.
Information about the New York Times (Historic) database
ProQuest databases
ProQuest is organized into databases of related newspapers, magazines, and academic journals that you can use to find articles. The information in each database varies, depending on its focus. There are three types of ProQuest databases: non-historical databases, historical databases, and standalone databases. Non-historical databases, such as Research Library contain general reference information. These databases are cross-searchable, meaning you can search across multiple non-historical databases at the same time. Historical databases, such as New York Times (Historic), contain historical information. You can search multiple historical databases, but you cannot search historical and non-historical databases together.
Information about the ProQuest databases database
PsycARTICLES
Contains more than 100,000 full-text articles from 59 journals published by American Psychological Association and allied organizations. Coverage now spans from 1894 to the present and includes general psychology and specialized basic, applied, clinical, and theoretical research in psychology.
Information about the PsycARTICLES database
PsycCRITIQUES
PsycCRITIQUES is a searchable database of book reviews in psychology that replaces the print journal Contemporary Psychology: APA Review of Books. More than 36,000 reviews are included, dating back to 1956.
Information about the PsycCRITIQUES database
PsychiatryOnline
Portal featuring DSM-IV-TR, the most widely used psychiatric reference in the world and The American Journal of Psychiatry plus a collection of psychiatric references and journals from American Psychiatric Publishing, Inc., self-assessment tools, and clinical & research news.
Information about the PsychiatryOnline database
Psychoanalytic Electronic Publishing (PEP Web)
PEP Web searches the current content of 17 major psychoanalytic journals and contains the full text of the eighteen premier psychoanalytic journals from 1920 to 2003 plus full text of the Standard Edition of the Complete Psychological Works of Sigmund Freud, and twenty-three classic psychoanalytic books.
Information about the Psychoanalytic Electronic Publishing (PEP Web) database
PsycINFO
PsycINFO contains nearly 2.3 million citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations and technical reports, all in the field of psychology. Journal coverage, which spans from 1887 to present, includes international material selected from more than 2,100 periodicals in over 25 languages. More than 60,000 records are added each year. It also includes information about the psychological aspects of related disciplines such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business and law.
Information about the PsycINFO database
PubMed
Over 15 million citations for biomedical articles back to the 1950's from MEDLINE and additional life science journals.
Information about the PubMed database
RAND California
RAND California provides information on California public policy and social science issues affecting the state, its counties and cities. It provides access to current economic, demographic, educational, and financial data for the State of California.
Information about the RAND California database
RefWorks
RefWorks is a Web-based bibliography and database manager that allows users to create their own personal database by importing references from text files or online databases. Users can use these references in writing their papers and automatically format the paper and the bibliography in seconds. As a web-based product, RefWorks is available to users across various platforms including Windows, Mac, and Unix. Pepperdine users also have access to Write-N-Cite, which is a utility which allows Windows, Mac, and Linux users to run an abbreviated version of RefWorks in their word processors and RefShare, which allows the sharing of RefWorks folders with others.
Information about the RefWorks database
Research Library
Research Library provides access to popular and scholarly journals in the social sciences, humanities, business, health, education and general science. It includes citations and abstracts for over 3,820 journals from 1972 forward. Full-text and/or full-image is available for over 2,500 journals from 1972 forward.
Information about the Research Library database
Sage Journals Online
Provides online access to the full text of individual SAGE journals. SAGE Publications publishes over 460 journals in Business, Communication, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Medicine.
Information about the Sage Journals Online database
ScienceDirect
Provides indexing and abstracting for over 2,500 scientific, technical and medical journals as well as access to 503 full-text Elsevier journals, and titles subscribed to by Pepperdine University Libraries, through the SCELC consortium, plus 45 titles in the Psychology backfile.
Information about the ScienceDirect database
Scirus
Comprehensive science-specific search engine locates scientific, scholarly, technical and medical data on the Web searching over 200 million Web pages that include reports, peer-reviewed articles, patents, pre prints and journals.
Information about the Scirus database
Scopus
Scopus offers more coverage of scientific, technical, medical and social science literature (14,000 titles) than any other database, full text links directly from the results list, abstracts back to 1966, a full 10-year reference backfile, daily updates, innovative tools to help you refine your search to relevant results, and alerts for you to keep abreast of your research topic.
Information about the Scopus database
Social Sciences Citation Index
Provides current and retrospective bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references to more than 1,800 of the world's leading scholarly social sciences journals covering more than 50 disciplines plus individually selected, relevant items from approximately 3,300 of the world's leading science and technology journals. Updated weekly. Coverage: 1997 to present.
Information about the Social Sciences Citation Index database
Web of Science: Social Sciences Citation Index
Provides current and retrospective bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references to more than 1,800 of the world's leading scholarly social sciences journals covering more than 50 disciplines plus individually selected, relevant items from approximately 3,300 of the world's leading science and technology journals. Updated weekly. Coverage: 1997 to present.
Information about the Web of Science: Social Sciences Citation Index database
Wiley InterScience
Wiley InterScience provides access to the full-text of 213 journals plus access to the citations and abstracts of approximately 800 additional titles. Wiley InterScience also provides access to Steven's Handbook of Experimental Psychology.
Information about the Wiley InterScience database
WorldCat
OCLC's Online Union Catalog contains bibliographic records of all types of materials owned by libraries around the world. WorldCat covers materials dating back to the 11th century, includes holdings information from libraries in 45 countries and is updated daily.
Information about the WorldCat database

 

Terms of Use | Privacy Policy