Pepperdine University

Information

Biographical Information

How to Find Biographical Information | Electronic Resources

How to Find Biographical Information

Scope: Explores resources for finding biographical information.

The following steps should make the search easier:

1. Look in the Pepperdine University Library catalog by subject. If a full-length biography is in the Pepperdine University collection, an entry will appear under the name of the person.

2. Check the index volume of one or more encyclopedias. Good encyclopedias contain biographical material about well-known people of all nationalities. Examples: World Book Encyclopedia (Ref AE 5 .W55 1993), Encyclopedia Americana (Ref AE 5 .E333 1996), The New Encyclopaedia Britannica (Ref AE 5 .E363 1993).

3. If no biographical data is found in the online catalog or the encyclopedias, look in Biographies Plus Illustrated (Pepperdine Libraries databases at http://library.pepperdine.edu). This database provides full-text information with illustrations.

4. Check the LEXIS/NEXIS ACADEMIC UNIVerse Biographical Information in the Reference section.

5. Other general sources which specialize in biographical information about a variety of people include:

General Sources:

Cambridge Biographical Dictionary. Ref CT 103 .C4 1990
Current Biography and Current Biography Yearbook. Ref CT 100 .C8
Dictionary of International Biography. Ref CT 101 .D5
Dictionary of Universal Biography... . Ref CT 103 .H9
Great Lives from History. Twentieth Century Series. Ref CT 120 .G69 1990
Who's Who in the World. Ref CT 120 .W5

6. If you have found no information in any of these sources, or not enough information for your purpose, make a survey of what you do know about the person you are investigating. Are you sure he is (or was) a real person? If he was fictitious, use the list of sources for FICTIONAL CHARACTERS. If real, is the person alive or dead? If dead, do you know when he lived? Do you know his nationality, or country with which he is usually associated? What is the occupation or field of interest with which he is primarily associated? With whatever information you have, you can then use those items from the following lists which are applicable:

For Living Persons for Whom the Country is Know or Can Be Guessed:

National Cyclopaedia of American Biography: Current Volume. Ref E 176 .N283
Notable American Women: the modern period: a biographical dictionary. Ref CT 3260 .N573
Who's Who. Ref DA 28 .W6
Who's Who Among Black Americans. Ref E 185.96 .W52
Who's Who Among Hispanic Americans. Ref E 184 .S75 W53
Who's Who in America. Ref E 176 .W6422
Who's Who of American Women. Ref E 176 .W647

For Deceased Persons for Whom the Country is Know or Can Be Guessed:

Dictionary of American Biography. Ref E 176 .D563
The Dictionary of American Biography: Supplement Three-Eight. Ref E 176 .D563
Dictionary of National Biography (British). Ref DA 28 .D47 1967
National Cyclopaedia of American Biography. Ref E 176 .N283 1967
Notable American Women, 1607-1950: a biographical dictionary. Ref CT 3260 .N57
Who Was Who. Ref D A28 .W621
Who Was Who in America. Ref E 176 .W643

By Occupation or Field of Interest

Literature and Authors:

American Authors, 1600-1900. Ref PS 21 .K8 1966
British Authors before 1800. Ref PR 105 .K9
British Authors of the Nineteenth Century. Ref PR 451 .K8 1936
Contemporary Authors. Ref PN 451 .C6x
Contemporary Novelists. Ref PR 883 .V55 1986x
Contemporary Poets. Ref PR 603 .C6 1985
Contemporary Poets of the English Language. Ref PR 603 .C6 1971
Cyclopedia of World Authors. Ref PN 451 .M36
Dictionary of Literary Biography. Ref PN 501 .D52
European Authors, 1000-1900. Ref PN 451 .K8
Hispanic Writers. Ref PQ 6051 .H5 1991
Spanish American Authors: the twentieth century. Ref PQ 7081.3 .F57 1992
Twentieth Century Authors. Ref PN 771 .K86
Twentieth Century Authors; first supplement. Ref PN 771 .K86 1955 Suppl.
Literature Resource Center (Gale) Electronic Database

Fictional Characters:

General encyclopedias (For examples and call numbers, see step 2)
Cyclopedia of Literary Characters. Ref PN 44 .M3 1963
Cyclopedia of Literary Characters II. Ref PN 44 .M28 1990
Dictionary of Mythology, Folklore and Symbols. Ref GR 35 .J6
The New Century Cyclopedia of Names. Ref AG 5 .N28 1954
Who's Who in Shakespeare. Ref PR 2989 .Q4 1973b

Education:

The National Faculty Directory. Ref L 901 .N34

Sciences:

American Men and Women of Science. Ref Q 141 .A74
Dictionary of Scientific Biography. Ref Q 141 .D5
World Who's Who in Science. Ref Q 141 .W7

Social Sciences:

American Men and Women of Science. Ref Q 141 .A74
Dictionary of American Social Reform. Ref H 41 .F5 1963
International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences. Ref H 40 .A2 I5 1972
Who's Who in Economics. Ref HB 76 .W46 1983

Business:

Reference Book of Corporate Managements. Ref HD 2745 .D897
Standard & Poor's Register of Corporations, Directors and Executives. Ref HG 4057 .A4
Who's Who in Economics. Ref HB 76 .W46 1983
Who's Who in Finance and Industry. Ref HF 3023 .A2 W5

Music:

ASCAP Biographical Dictionary. Ref ML 106 .U3 A5 1980
Biographical Dictionary of Musicians. Ref ML 105 .B16 1991
Composers since 1900: First Supplement Ref ML 390 .E833 Suppl.
The Music Index. Ref Index
The New Grove Dictionary of American Music. Ref ML 101 .U6 N48 1986
The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians. Ref ML 100 .N48 2001
The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians. Electronic Database
"You Must Remember This": popular songwriters 1900-1980 Ref ML 390 .W378 1985

Art and Architecture:

Art Index. Ref Index
The Dictionary of Art. Ref N 31 .D5 1996
Encyclopedia of World Art. Ref N 31 .E4833
Who's Who in American Art. Ref N 6536 .W5
Who's Who in Architecture: from 1400 to the present. Ref NA 40 .W48

Entertainment:

Contemporary Theatre, Film, and Television. Ref PN 2285 .C58
The Dance Encyclopedia. Ref GV 1585 .C5 1967
International Motion Picture Almanac. Ref PN 1993.3 .I55
International Television & Video Almanac. Ref PN 1992.15 .I61
Notable Names in the American Theatre. Ref PN 2285 .N6 1976
Who's Who in Entertainment. Ref PN 1583 .W48
Who's Who in the Theatre. Ref PN 2208 .W5 1981

Political and Social:

The African-American Almanac. Ref E 185 .N386
LexisNexis Academic News Electronic Database
Official Congressional Directory. Ref JK 1011 .U5
Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature. Ref Index
Who's Who in American Politics. Ref E 176 .W6424

Electronic Resources

Biographical Dictionary
Searchable biographical dictionary of over 25,000 notable men and women who have shaped our world from ancient times to the present day. The dictionary can be searched by birth years, death years, positions held, professions, literary and artistic works, achievements, and other keywords

Biography.com
25,000 personalities and 2,500 videos

Yahoo: People
Extensive listing of biographical sites

Biography Resource Center
Provides biographical information on more than 220,000 people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas. Besides biographical narratives, the database provides full-text articles from more than 250 periodicals.

Last Updated: June 2009

Terms of Use | Privacy Policy