Finding Journal Articles
To find journal articles on your topic, use a database or index, and follow the steps below.
Select the Right Database
Determine the best database for your search by asking the Reference Librarian or consulting the electronic list. Remember for certain topics or time periods the best 'database' may still be a print index.
Identify Topic and Keywords
Focus on your topic, identify exactly what you want to know. Create a topic statement or question and pick no more than three words that best describe your topic - look for descriptive words and/or unusual words. Avoid words that occur often; ex., don't use teacher or student in an education database.
Conduct Your Search
For assistance ask the Reference Librarian, consult the Select A Database list, or use the built-in Help function of the database.
Create a Personal Citations List
To be safe, find twice as many citations as you may actually need. The citation will enable you to locate the article. Note, some databases contain the full text or full image of the article which you can print, email or download immediately. If the database contains only citations, you will need the following minimum information to locate the article:
For journal articles: title of the journal, volume and issue number, the date, and the page on which the article begins; it's best to also include the name of the author and the title of the article.
For newspaper articles: name of the newspaper, the exact day, the section, the page and the column.
Locate Articles in Our Library
Use Citation Linker to locate a journal article. Results will contain a link to the Pepperdine University Print Holdings if a paper copy or micofilm is available. Results for electronic full-text articles will contain a link to the article in an electronic journal or database. Occasionally the link will only lead to the journal or database and you will need to search for the exact author/title.
If Pepperdine University Libraries own the journal but not at the library where you are located, use Pepperdine Campus Loan.
Note that journal locations are listed as follows in the Library Catalog: Drescher Graduate Campus Library - Periodicals, Encino Graduate Campus Library- Periodicals, Irvine Graduate Campus Library - Periodicals, Payson Library - Periodicals, Payson Library - Periodicals - Compact Shelving, Payson Library - Periodicals - Microfilm, West Los Angeles Graduate Campus Library - Periodicals, Westlake Village Graduate Campus Library - Periodicals.
If Pepperdine University Libraries do not own the journal you can order the article through Interlibrary Loan.



