RefWorks Help Guide
Online Tutorials:
Tutorial
#1 - Setting Up a Refworks Account and Adding a Reference Manually
Tutorial
#2 - Importing and Organizing References
Sign-up for an account:
You must register for an individual account to use RefWorks. The username and password on the RefWorks screen is separate from your WaveNet/network login.
Creating Folders
- Select Folders at the top of the screen and click Create New Folder
- Name the folder and click OK
Adding References from Databases:
You can import records from many of the Pepperdine Library databases into RefWorks. After exporting records from the databases, do the following:
Example of importing references from Databases:
- Conduct a search in Research Library
- Click the boxes next to articles that you want to export to RefWorks
- Click the Export link
- Click Export directly to RefWorks
- A second browser window will open for RefWorks, enter your username and password
- Click the link View Last Imported Folder
Putting References into Folders
- References will default to your Last imported Folder
- Click the boxes next to the citations
- Click the button titled Selected
- Select the folder from the Put in Folder pull-down menu
- It is highly recommended that you assign references to a folder
Adding Records from the Pepperdine Library Catalog to RefWorks:
You can import records for books and dvd’s from the Pepperdine Library Catalog. To import these records to RefWorks, you must conduct your search from the RefWorks interface.
- Click Search at the top of the screen and select Online Catalog or Database
- Make sure that Pepperdine is selected with the pull-down menu
- Type in your search terms and click Search
- Click the boxes next to records which you want to add to RefWorks or click All in List
- Select the Folder you want to records assigned to
- Click Import
How to create a Bibliography (Works Cited Page) of Your References:
- Click Bibliography at the top of the screen
- Choose the Output Style (MLA, APA, etc.)
- Select a File Type for bibliography- HTML or Microsoft Word
- Select All References, or select a folder from the pull-down menu
- Click Create Bibliography
- You might have to click Download it if the bibliography doesn’t load automatically or e-mail the document to yourself
What if I Can’t Find Citations that I Downloaded into RefWorks:
Most likely your citations weren’t assigned to a specific folder. Do the following to locate your citations:
- Go to Folders, click View and choose References Not in a Folder
Important Note for Online Sources
If you accessed a full-text source from a database, your bibliography must reflect that your source was retrieved electronically. Here are two strategies for managing online sources for your bibliography:
|
Option #1:
|
Option #2:
|
Editing References From Online Databases
Be extra careful to check the format of citations from full-text databases. You might have to add the name of the database and the date that you accessed the article to your citations.
- Click View at the top of the screen and either select All References or choose a Folder of references
- Click the Edit link next to references that you wish to edit
- Type in the name of the database for the Database field (e.g. Research Library)
- Type in the date that you searched for the article in the Retrieved Date field
- Click Save Reference at the bottom of the screen
Write-N-Cite
This tool operates within your word processor and allows you to format in-text citations and create a bibliography.
To download Write-N-Cite:
- Load the RefWorks program
- Click Tools
- Select Write-N-Cite
Important Note for Off-Campus Users:
Windows Users:
- From the Start Menu of your computer select RefWorks
- Select the WNC Proxy Configuration Utility
- Enter the URL https://lib.pepperdine.edu/login?url=http://www.refworks.com/Refworks/?WNC=true
Mac Users:
- Activate Write-N-Cite
- Select Preferences from the Write-N-Cite menu
- Enter the URL: https://lib.pepperdine.edu/login?url=http://www.refworks.com/Refworks/?WNC=true
Adding references to your paper with Write-N-Cite:
- Click the Write-N-Cite icon in your word processor to start the application.
- Place your cursor where you want to the citation and click Cite next to the reference you want in Write-N-Cite.
- A placeholder with open curly brackets will appear in your document. The correct format will appear after creating a bibliography.
- Save your document when finished.
Creating a Write-N-Cite Bibliography:
- Click Bibliography in the Write-N-Cite window
- Select your Output Style (MLA, APA, etc.)
- Click Create Bibliography
- A new window with your formatted document will open
Compiled By: Marc Vinyard
Last Updated: October 2006





