World Religions Subject Guide
Indexing Sites | Government Sites | Archival Sites | Organization Sites | Individual or Specialty Sites
Indexing Sites
Biblical Languages
URL: http://www.nyx.net/~dwashbur/home.html
Biblical researcher David L. Washburn offers list of links to Hebrew Grammar, Greek and Aramaic languages, plus will answer questions online. Also other Bible-related sites are linked.
Academic Info: Religion
URL: http://www.academicinfo.net/religindex.html
A listing, with links, of Web sources for the academic study of religion. This an excellent access point to sites for the study of Eastern religions and non-Judeo-Christian beliefs.
Al-Bawaba
URL: http://www.albawaba.com/
Al-Bawaba ('The Gateway' in Arabic), is a comprehensive Middle Eastern portal on the Internet provides information on the Middle Eastern economy and business sectors, along with politics, tourism, culture, legal issues, health, entertainment and sports. News items, in-depth reports and analysis on all these topics are undertaken daily. Includes a keyword search facility. The religion and philosophy links are excellent.
Churches of Christ Online - Restoration Resources
URL: http://cconline.faithsite.com/default.asp?SID=304&FP=1956
Links to Restoration Movement resources.
Facets of Religion - WWW Virtual Library - Religion
URL: http://www.facetsofreligion.com/
Web site, with links, to all major religions.
Harvard Divinity School: Andover-Harvard Theological Library - Internet Resources of Interest
URL: http://www.hds.harvard.edu/library/index.html
This is a list of Internet resources selected especially for the HDS community by Clifford Wunderlich, Librarian for Public Services.
LIST OF POPES - The Catholic Encyclopedia
URL: http://www.newadvent.org/cathen/12272b.htm
This is a list of Internet links from the Catholic Encyclopedia about all of the Popes.
New York Public Library The Research Libraries
URL: http://www.nypl.org/research/research.html
Links to the four major research collections of NYPL.
Religion Collections in Libraries and Archives: A Guide to Resources in Maryland, Virginia and the District of Columbia
URL: http://lcweb.loc.gov/rr/main/religion/
Cheryl Adams and Art Emerson, of the Library of Congress, have compiled a comprehensive guide to religious sources in the greater Washington, D.C. area.
Vanderbilt University Divinity Library
URL: http://divinity.lib.vanderbilt.edu/
Home page, with Web links, of Vanderbilt's resources for religious and theological research.
Government Sites
The Library of Congress
URL: http://www.loc.gov
This World Wide Web site allows the Library of Congress to offer the first small but important part of our unique American historical collections as well as our catalog, the text and images from major exhibitions, the THOMAS database of current information on the U.S. Congress, a Learning Page for K-12 students and teachers, and much more. Also offers access to key documents, films, photographs and sound recordings of our nation's history in the American Memory Historical Collections.
National Archives and Records Administration
URL: http://www.nara.gov
NARA provides to the essential evidence that documents the rights of American citizens, the actions of federal officials, and the national experience. Although documents may not be available electronically, their existence may be confirmed. There are several regional archival sites, in addition to the main facilities in Washington, D.C. and College Park, MD.
The U.S. Supreme Court
URL: http://supct.law.cornell.edu/supct/
Provides access to decisions that relate to a variety of issues, including religion and the separation of Church and State.
Archival Sites
Encyclicals and Other Papal Documents
URL: http://www.rc.net/rcchurch/vatstmts/
Encyclicals (a letter circulated by a bishop to all of the churches in his care) and other letters and documents from recent popes.
Restoration Serials Index
URL: http://www3.acu.edu/rsi/
Abilene Christian University Site for researching the Restoration Movement serials.
Historical Text Archive - Mississippi State University
URL: http://historicaltextarchive.com/
Links to texts from all periods and geographical areas.
Internet Sacred Text Archive
URL: http://sacred-texts.com/index.htm
An archive of primary religious texts and links to secondary sources.
Pitts Theology Library - The Archives Department
URL: http://www.pitts.emory.edu/SpecColl/archives.html
This Web site allows access to the archives collection of Pitts Theology Library, which is located on the Emory University campus in Atlanta. Its monographic and serials collection is the second largest in North America among theological libraries, exceeding 450,000 volumes. The finding aids of the archives are arranged in groups that share a common time period, geographic location, or subject area. This arrangement is seen in the Archives menu choices.
Organization Sites
American Academy of Religion
URL: http://www.aarweb.org/Default.asp
This is the major learned society and professional association of research scholars and teachers in religion. The Academy is dedicated to furthering knowledge of religion and religious institutions in all their forms and manifestations.
American Oriental Society
URL: http://www.umich.edu/~aos/
The American Oriental Society is the oldest learned society in the United States devoted to a particular field of scholarship. The Society was founded in 1842, preceded only by such distinguished organizations of general scope as the American Philosophical Society (1743), the American Academy of Arts and Sciences (1780), and the American Antiquarian Society (1812). From the beginning its aims have been humanistic. The encouragement of basic research in the languages and literatures of Asia has always been central in its tradition. This tradition has come to include such subjects as philology, literary criticism, textual criticism, paleography, epigraphy, linguistics, biography, archaeology, and the history of the intellectual and imaginative aspects of Oriental civilizations, especially of philosophy, religion, folklore and art. The scope of the Society's purpose is not limited by temporal boundaries: All sincere students of man and his works in Asia, at whatever period of history are welcomed to membership.
American Schools of Oriental Research
URL: http://www.bu.edu/asor/
Composed of twenty institutions who organized themselves as charter members. The major overseas effort started with the building of a permanent Institute in Jerusalem in 1925, with an emphasis on archaeological and biblical research programs in Palestine. The purpose is to enable properly qualified persons to pursue biblical, linguistic, archaeological, historical, and other kindred studies and researches under more favorable conditions than can be secured at a distance from the Holy Land.
Archaeological Institute of America
URL: http://www.archaeological.org/
The Archaeological Institute of America informs the public about archaeology and about information derived from the sound professional practice of archaeology through a wide range of educational programs, including publications, lectures, and tours.
Association for Jewish Studies
URL: http://www.brandeis.edu/ajs/index.html
A learned society and professional organization that seeks to promote, maintain, and improve teaching, research, and related endeavors in Jewish Studies in colleges, universities, and other institutions of higher learning.
Society of Biblical Literature
URL: http://www.sbl-site.org/
The purpose of the Society of Biblical Literature is to stimulate the critical investigation of biblical literature, together with other related literature, by the exchange of scholarly research both in published form and in public forum. The SBL endeavors to support those disciplines and subdisciplines pertinent to the illumination of the literatures and religions of the ancient Near Eastern and Mediterranean regions, such as the study of ancient languages, textual criticism, history, and archaeology.
World Council of Churches
URL: http://www.wcc-coe.org/wcc/links/index-e.html
Links to a wide range of resources in Christianity.
Individual or Specialty Sites
NOTE: Links to specific religious groups are intended to provide the broadest possible representation. Major Christian groups are represented, however, it should be noted that the Protestant tradition has many more than can be accommodated here. Interested persons are referred to:
Sites
Anglican Online
URL: http://anglicansonline.org/
This site provides links to the various branches of the Anglican tradition.
Association of Torah Observant Messianics
URL: http://www.teshuvah.com/
Teshuvah - the Association of Torah Observant Messianic's Home Page (an organization of Nazarene Jews). "Nazarene Jews are those who are following the first-century faith and practice of Yahshua of Nazareth, the Messiah."
Baha'i Faith
URL: http://www.bahai.org/
This site gives a general overview, basic writings, teachings, and links to members.



